Book Thingo Podcast: Chachic and April

Kat, April and I for the podcast - August 2017

Kat, April and I right before we started recording

A few weeks ago, I shared the link to my good friend Kat’s podcast featuring romanceclass actors and live readers. This week’s Book Thingo podcast episode features me and another friend, April (Twitter, Instagram, Blog). Kat, April and I are partners in #romancelandian, which is a play on Romanlandia: “landian” in Filipino means flirting. I’m so glad we got to record this podcast when Kat was in Manila! It’s actually an impromptu discussion, we were just able to squeeze it in after the podcast recording with the live readers.

Book Thingo Podcast - behind the scenes August 2017

April, Me and Mina while Kat recorded the podcast with the live readers

Click on the embedded audio file below to listen to the podcast, or on the image to get redirected to the Book Thingo site:
Book Thingo Podcast

Please let me know what you think if you’ve listened to it! I know some of you don’t like listening to podcasts, but there’s no available transcript for this. As a summary, we talked about how we were introduced to romance, what were our gateway titles, and what are our deal breakers. A bit more info from my end… I mentioned that I started reading romance in my teens, first with Sweet Valley titles then with Bantam’s Love Stories series, two of my favorites from that series were I Do and At First Sight by Elizabeth Chandler. Then I moved on to my mom’s Harlequins and Mills and Boon pocketbooks, having nothing else to read during summer vacation because I didn’t have access to good public libraries. Before #romanceclass started, Summit Books were my go-to when it came to Filipino romances. And of course, we also talked about Mina V. Esguerra’s Fairy Tale Fail (my review) as our introduction to romanceclass books. It will always have a special place in my heart because I felt like the story was a slice out of my life, like that kind of romance could have happened to me or one of my friends.

Some of my favorite romance authors that I mentioned were Ilona Andrews, Julie James, Laura Florand and Lucy Parker. I feel like they all have their own unique way of writing and no one writes like they do. I love how Kat said that she owes me for introducing her to Ilona Andrews. I got her started on their writing by sending her a gift of Burn for Me and now she’s a fan. I love it when friends fall in love with the same books that I also love.

That’s it! I really enjoyed this discussion and I hope you did too (if you listened to it). Tune in for more Book Thingo podcasts that were recorded in Manila. They will be going live in the coming weeks.

Book Thingo podcast - group pic August 2017

Kat, April and I. Together with Mina, Six and Jay (guests for the next podcast episode)

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

