Looking for Urban Fantasy Recommendations

Ilona and Gordon shirt and Wildfire on Kindle

I’m a huge Ilona Andrews fangirl. I even have the shirt to prove it.πŸ˜‚ I’m looking for urban fantasy recommendations similar to their writing. I’ve already tried Patricia Briggs, Seanan McGuire, Nalini Singh, Eileen Wilks, Stacia Kane, Thea Harrison. But haven’t found any other series that I loved as much as the Hidden Legacy and Kate Daniels series, and the rest of Ilona and Gordon’s books.

I’ve already made this request on Twitter (see tweet below) and Litsy, and of course I had to ask for recs here on the blog too. Plus I can update this post with a list of the recs I receive so it would be easier to keep track of them.

Recommendations from Twitter:
Jenn Bennet’s Arcadia Bell
Lauren Dane’s Goddess with a Blade
Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Otherworld (tried her first Darkest Powers book but wasn’t a fan)

Recommendations from Litsy:
Deanna Raybourn’s Lady Julia (not urban fantasy but similar slow burn romance… tried the first two books and enjoyed them but didn’t feel compelled to continue)
Karen Marie Moning’s Fever
Grave Witch by Kalayna Price
The Shadow Reader by Sandy Williams
Blade Song by J.C. Daniels
Written in Red by Anne Bishop

I’ve already sent some samples on my Kindle, but I haven’t started reading any of the titles mentioned yet. Please feel free to suggest titles that you think I’d enjoy! πŸ˜€

18 thoughts on “Looking for Urban Fantasy Recommendations

  1. I will put in an ardent second to Anne Bishop’s The Others series which starts with Written in Red.

    It’s a standalone book but have you read War for the Oaks: A Novel by Emma Bull ?

    • Kareni, thanks for seconding the rec for Written in Red! Looks like I really need to check that one out. And no, I haven’t read War for the Oaks by Emma Bull yet, it’s another title that you’d rec?

      • I don’t think you’ll be disappointed with Written in Red and its sequels; it’s a definite favorite of mine. As regards War for the Oaks, I read it years ago, but it’s still enjoyable; it’s a standalone book and not part of a series.

      • I’ll try a sample of Written in Red to see if it’s something I’ll enjoy.😊 How many books are in the series? Oh War for the Oaks is a standalone? That’s rare for urban fantasy. All of the ones I know are part of a series.

      • Written in Red is the first of five books in The Others series. The author is starting a new series set in the same world. That book is coming out in March, I believe.

        War for the Oaks was published in 1987 when urban fantasy wasn’t really a thing. From the Amazon blurb: “Acclaimed by critics and readers on its first publication in 1987, winner of the Locus Award for Best First Novel, Emma Bull’s War for the Oaks is one of the novels that has defined modern urban fantasy.”

      • I wonder why I missed Written in Red earlier? I checked Goodreads and saw that it has good reviews from friends.

        Oh War for the Oaks is an oldie but goodie! I wonder if it’s a bit dated compared to more modern urban fantasy titles?

  2. I love Lee Carroll’s Black Swan Rising trilogy and Lilith Saintcrow’s Dante Valentine series. Rachel Caine’s Weather Warden series might also suit you. Any maybe look into Keri Arthur, Ann Aguirre, Kim Harrison, Karen MacInerney, K.E. Wills and Chloe Neil. There’s also Nicole Peeler’s Jane True series but that’s a lot more on the light side of things.

  3. Ooh, I love your redesign!

    I have never read Ilona Andrews or much urban fantasy at all, so I really can’t speak to this. I liked War for the Oaks by Emma Bull and Borderline by Mishell Baker and that’s the full extent of my urban fantasy knowledge. :p

    • Finally listened to the podcast you rec’d (I’m not much of a podcast listener so I have to make an effort to listen in on some episodes when they’re rec’d) and Slouch Witch totally sounds like something I’d enjoy! Too bad it isn’t 0.99usd anymore like they mentioned on the podcast.

      • I’m glad you had a chance to listen to the podcast. I’m not one to listen at all; I’m grateful that a written transcript is provided within a few days of each episode. If you read Slouch Witch, I’ll be interested in hearing your impressions.

      • I think if I was doing some other task like driving or if I have a long commute, it would be fun to listen to podcasts. But yeah, that’s good that they provide transcripts!

        Will definitely post on the blog if I ever get around to Slouch Witch. So far, that’s the most appealing out of all the urban fantasy titles that have been rec’d.πŸ˜‚

  4. Well, War for the Oaks doesn’t have cell phones or more modern paraphernalia, but I think it has stood the test of time. If you’re trying to decide between the two books though, I definitely favor Written in Red.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

