Impromptu Bookish Dinner: Sushi and Coffee

Impromptu meet ups and meals with bookish friends is one of the best things about being back home in Manila. Yesterday, I met up with Filipino authors Mina V. Esguerra and Layla Tanjutco. We had sushi for dinner, and then cake and coffee afterwards. That combo doesn’t make much sense but we had our reasons! The informal theme for yesterday’s meet up was Mina’s What You Wanted, because the hero in that book has his birthday on October 5. πŸ™‚ I really enjoyed reading What You Wanted back when it was released, and you can read my review here. It’s currently on sale for just 0.99usd and can be read as a standalone, go and grab a copy ASAP if you haven’t read it yet.

What You Wanted - Dinner with Mina and Layla

In one of the scenes of the book, the hero takes the heroine to a sushi place. So it totally made sense for us to have dinner at Genki Sushi:

What You Wanted - Genki Sushi

The hero is also a huge fan of coffee so we said we had to grab dessert and coffee after dinner. We ended up at a cafe called The Chocolate Kiss:

What You Wanted - The Chocolate Kiss

“Coffee isn’t exactly a sexy smell for other people, you know.”
“It’s not? They’re lying.”

I mentioned in an earlier blog post that bookish shirts are my current apparel of choice and I love pairing them with printed skirts. I love midi skirts but some of them look like maxi skirts on me because I’m hobbit-sized. Here are some OOTD shots for fun:

I M Reader OOTD

I M Reader OOTD 2

The photos above were taken by Layla. Thank you, Layla! πŸ˜€ And of course I also had to wear my bookish earrings, received as a gift from my friend Kat of Book Thingo:

Wearing bookish earrings

Bookish earrings

Bookish earrings 2

I’ve had people say that these earrings actually match my current blog banner. πŸ™‚

Last but not the least, I wanted to share this Twitter thread of Filipino-romance-in-English titles that are currently on sale. Click on this to see the thread with buy links:

I’m sure you can tell based on the pictures that it was a Saturday evening well-spent. I hope you had an equally good weekend! πŸ˜€

3 thoughts on “Impromptu Bookish Dinner: Sushi and Coffee

  1. Pingback: romanceclass origins: A New Blog Feature | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

