Ten Hidden Gems in Filipino Romance

Top Ten Tuesday2

I haven’t done a Top Ten Tuesday post in ages! As always, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is a freebie, we get to highlight hidden gems in any genre of our choice. Since August is Buwan Ng Mga Akdang Pinoy can be roughly translated as “Month of Filipino Authors” or even “Month of Filipino Books”. I mostly read romanceclass books (Indie pubbed Filipino romance written in English) so that’s what I choose to focus on for this post. 😀

romanceclass-logo

There are a few romanceclass titles that have gotten international recognition, such as Learning to Fall by Mina V. Esguerra which was reviewed on Dear Author or Beginner’s Guide by Six de los Reyes which was reviewed on Smart Bitches, Trashy Books and was included in NPR’s Book Concierge last year. But most of the titles are more under-the-radar, which is a shame because I think they can have appeal to a wider audience. Here are five romanceclass titles that I consider as hidden gems:

Feels Like Summer Iris After the Incident Cover-Story-Girl One Night at the Palace Hotel

And here are five more that I haven’t read yet, but are high on my TBR pile because of recommendations… these books would be my introduction to these authors:

If the Dress Fits Songs of Our Breakup The Princess Finds Her Match What About Today Waiting in the Wings

All of these are available as Kindle editions on Amazon, so you can buy copies of them wherever you are. I actually created a Twitter thread of Filipino romance titles in English that are currently on sale, in case you want to go through the list which already has links to the Amazon page of each book:

Some of them aren’t 0.99usd anymore but still pretty affordable! Some will be on promo price until the end of the month. I’ve been adding titles to the thread as their prices drop, and I’ve also been one clicking like crazy and stocking up on books that have been on my wishlist. 😛

Have you read any romances by Filipino authors? Let me know what you thought of them. If you’re familiar with romanceclass and have read books from the community, please feel free to share your own favorites and recommendations in the comments section. 🙂

14 thoughts on “Ten Hidden Gems in Filipino Romance

  1. Interesting. 🙂 I may have to check some of these out.

    Dati kasi haha, yung mga tig-10pesos na romance novels lang yung alam ko. Yung mga binabasa ng mga lola pag hapon. XD

    • Grabe naman yung tig-10 pesos na romance novels!😂 If you’re a romance reader, then you definitely should give romanceclass a try. Most of the titles are contemporary romance – ranging from adult, new adult and young adult.

      • Oh Taglish romance in the Philippines has a huge market! I haven’t tried them yet but series like Precious Hearts have so many readers.

        Recs for romanceclass titles? The ones I mentioned in my post above.😂☝️

  2. Interesting list! I haven’t intentionally / knowingly read any books by Filipino authors, but I haven’t intentionally avoided them, either. Often I’m clueless about where the authors of the books I read are from… I need to get better about being aware of that. Thanks for the food for thought!

      • I go in phases with romance. Sometimes I really enjoy it, sometimes I can’t stand it, LOL. I’ll certainly start to pay more attention to where the authors whose books I”m reading are from, though! Thank you for bringing this to my attention. 🙂

    • Oh thanks for the link, Kareni! I’m so happy Chris’ book got reviewed on Smart Bitches. It’s a fair review so I hope it encourages more readers to pick up the book. Plus it’s only 0.99usd.🏖🌞

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

