Coffee in the Morning, Podcast in the Afternoon

My good friend Kat of Book Thingo is based in Sydney but she’s on vacation in Manila for a few days. I believe Kat and I first bonded over our mutual love of Melina Marchetta, and then we moved on to discussing and recommending romance titles. Mostly online, because she’s in Sydney and I was in Singapore at that time. Although we did get to meet in person last year. On Saturday morning, another bookish friend Honey organized a coffee tour for us at Toby’s Estate roastery here in Manila. It was such an awesome experience, worth my while to wake up early on a Saturday morning! Anyone who knows me knows that I’m not a morning person AT ALL. I talk more about the coffee tour (and of course include pictures) in this post:

Yesterday morning's super fun activity was a coffee tour hosted by @chiefcaffeinator at @tobysestateph's roastery.β˜•β˜• We got to try the signature Woolloomooloo blend that has been adapted to the Filipino palette (tasted chocolately for me), as well as the Salcedo blend which was specifically created to cater to Filipino taste buds (I could tell it was sweet but couldn't identify the guava note). My favorite Toby's drink is dirty chocolate chai but I also love how smooth the cappuccino is. We also got to watch a single origin from Bukidnon being roasted. @bookthingo says the coffee here is even better than Sydney's!πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ So glad she's here on vacation and I was able to crash this tour organized by @fantaghiro23. The coffee enthusiast and cafe hopper in me loved the whole experience. The things I get to do because of bookish people never cease to amaze me. Thank you so much, Raoul, Honey and Kat! πŸ™Œ PS: Please help me petition for a Toby's branch to open up in QC.

A post shared by Chachic (@chachickenpie) on

As always, swipe left to see everything! In the afternoon, we met up with romanceclass people to record podcasts. I thought I was just going to listen in, and observe while the rest of them do the recordings with Kat but hey, fellow Filipino blogger April and I got to record our own. We talked about reading, romance, and enjoying the dirty bits in the books we read. πŸ˜€ It was a lot of fun, mostly felt like just chatting with friends since I talk to both Kat and April on a regular basis anyway. Pictures here:

So excited to hear the final version of all the podcasts on Book Thingo. We wrapped up the day with dinner at Manam, a restaurant in the area that serves delicious Filipino food. If I was nearer to that place, I would definitely come back more often.

That was my Saturday, which was obviously a really good day for me. I love being able to spend more time with bookish people now that I’m in Manila because that’s something that I didn’t get to do abroad. Sunday was a quiet day spent at home, and now Monday is here! How was your weekend? Were you able to read or do anything book-related? πŸ™‚ Have you read any books that you’d like to rave about? I haven’t been able to sit down and write reviews recently but I really want to do so soon! Let’s see how it goes.

5 thoughts on “Coffee in the Morning, Podcast in the Afternoon

    • It was a lovely day spent with bookish friends! Sometimes you just really need days like those, right?πŸ˜‰ Hope you’re doing well, Kareni. Have you read any amazing books lately?

      • I’m enjoying a collection of books by Christie Meierz. The first novel is The Marann, but there is a free collection with two stories for Kindle readers titled Into Tolari Space (Tales of Tolari Space).

  1. Pingback: Podcast in the Morning, Book Signing in the Afternoon | Chachic's Book Nook

  2. Pingback: Book Thingo Podcast Features romanceclass Actors | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

