Best Books I’ve Read So Far In 2017

The first half of 2017 has come and gone! I’ve been meaning to write this post since June ended but we all know how real life gets in the way of things so I’m only able to do this now, when we’re already halfway through July. Better late than never! I’ve shared best books I’ve read for the first half of the year in 2016 as well as 2015, and wanted to do it again this year. While I haven’t been blogging that much, I’ve still been reading a lot. And it’s nice to look back on what titles have stood out for me. Also, it makes things easier for me at the end of the year when I share my Best of 2017 list. Here the books that I’ve read and loved in the first half of the year:

White Hot Clean Sweep One Fell Sweep

A Crown of Bitter Orange pretty face

thick-as-thieves Hunted

Four titles by Ilona Andrews (the Innkeeper Chronicles got me out of a bad slump in April), three contemporary romances from authors I love, and two YA fantasy titles. Of course THICK AS THIEVES is here… we’ve only waited SEVEN YEARS for this latest installment to be released! All of these books except for Hunted were written by my trusted authors so it’s not surprising that they’ve become favorites for this year. Hunted is a beautifully written, Russian-inspired retelling of Beauty and the Beast and my introduction to Meagan Spooner’s writing. Note to self: I need to try more new-to-me authors in the second half of the year to see if I’ll love any of them. Also, I need to read more books written by Filipino authors because I only have one on my list so far.

What about the rest of you, what have been the best books that you’ve read in 2017 so far? 🙂 Do you have some of my picks in your own list? I would love to check out the books that would come highly recommended by bookish friends so please feel free to leave a comment.

10 thoughts on “Best Books I’ve Read So Far In 2017

  1. I still kind of can’t believe that Thick as Thieves happened! After all these years! It’s definitely going to be one of my favorite books of 2017. Aside from that, White Tears is a stand-out for me — what a bonkers book and how beautifully written it was! I couldn’t shut up about it when I read it (and apparently I still cannot shut up about it).

    • IKR? I also can’t really believe that Thick as Thieves happened. Maybe a reread is in order since I still haven’t written a full review for it. I knew it was going to be in my list of favorites even before it was released.

      I looked up White Tears and it seems like it’s a scary book? Haha I’m a big scaredy cat so I don’t really read those kinds of books.

  2. I followed Innkeeper Chronicles on Ilona’s blog. Riveting. Hunted is intriguing. I always go for Beauty and the Beast-inspired stories. Something about that tale…. 🙂 Thanks for this blog. Reminded me that I have been neglecting reading books for quite some time.

    • Hey Michelle, good to see you commenting here! Hope you’ve been doing well.😊 I think the Innkeeper Chronicles had minor edits as full novels, I remember seeing somewhere that the steamy scenes weren’t included on their blog serial.

      As for Hunted, you should definitely check it out if you’re a Beauty and the Beast fan! The ebook was on sale a few weeks ago so maybe the price will go down again soon.

      Hope you’re able to read more soon.😉

  3. I enjoyed several of the books on your list also.

    I finished a book today that I really enjoyed. I read the first book in the series last week and re-read it before beginning the second. They are Lyn Gala’s Claimings, Tails, and Other Alien Artifacts plus Assimilation, Love, and Other Human Oddities.
    I’m eager to read on in the series as I found the second book even better than the first. One of the things that makes these books so interesting is the focus on linguistics and cultural differences between the two main characters one of whom is from Earth while the other is from a different planet. These are certainly amongst my favorites read so far this year; they’re not new releases however. They are male/male romances, and I don’t recall, Chachic, if you read romances of that ilk.

    • Kareni, thanks for the rec! I do read M/M romances but the ones I’ve tried have all been contemporaries so far. I looked up the Lyn Gala books that you suggested and they look interesting – they seem like a quiet kind of romance that’s more like a meeting of the minds than anything physical. I’ll keep it in mind, I kind of feel like I have to be in a certain kind of mood to read it.

      • There is a lot of conversation between the two leads which is something I appreciate in my romances. There is also a definite physical component. Should you read the books, I’ll certainly be interested in hearing your thoughts.

    • Angie, my friend, I would be more surprised if we did NOT share any favorites. Always good to have proof that our tastes match! What other titles are on your list?😊

  4. Pingback: Book Blogging Over the Years | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

