Chachic's Book Nook

2017 International Women’s Day

10 Comments

Happy International Women’s Day! 🙂 On this day last year, I did a post about books that I liked or loved that feature awesome females in fiction. I’m hoping to make it yearly thing. I’m choosing to highlight books written by female authors, that I enjoyed reading within the past year, and have ladies who have shown strength in various ways. One of the reasons why I liked these books is because the female main characters have demonstrated physical, emotional, or mental strength. They fought, they endured, they persisted. And that’s always something that I would admire.

Same as last year, I’m going by genre:

Speculative fiction:
White Hot magic-binds The Mountain of Kept Memory fresh-romance Monstress
master-of-crows Warprize a-promise-of-fire a-darker-shade-of-magic
The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms the-broken-kingdoms

Contemporary:
Summer Skin Iris After the Incident A Crown of Bitter Orange Pairing Off

What about you, who are some of the fictional female characters you enjoyed reading about? 🙂 As always, if you have recommendations for me based on the titles I featured here, please feel free to share them!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

10 thoughts on “2017 International Women’s Day

  1. Thanks for including Paring Off’s Carrie in your list. The compliment made my day.

  2. I’ve got to try Ilona Andrews; lots of people I trust seem to like her! And I really want to read more Laura Florand.

    • Kim, you really need to read Ilona Andrews! If the Kate Daniels is too much of a commitment for you, maybe you can try their Hidden Legacy trilogy? Only the first book had been released but the second and third will be released this year.😊 Or you can even try their standalone sci-fi novellas, Silent Blade and Silver Shark.

  3. Ooooo some of these titles looks interesting! Also gotta remember to pick up Laura Florand’s book!

  4. Some interesting choices above! Thanks for your post.

  5. Yayyyyy, Monstress! Having read that one lately, I feel particularly fond of it. It’s not just that the main character’s awesome, although she is, but I love reading a comic that’s about ALL women, of so many different stripes. It’s great.

    • Monstress is amazing! Yes, I had to pause while reading to just absorb how awesome it was that the book is filled with great female characters. Seriously cannot wait for Volume 2.🙌

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

