Best of 2016

Happy New Year! πŸ˜€ I think we can all agree that 2016 was a difficult year on so many levels. There was so many things happening on an international scale, as well as in the Philippines (which still affects me a great deal even if I’m based in Singapore for work). On a personal front, I resigned from my previous job and started a new one. It hasn’t been smooth sailing and I’ve been struggling with having a sense of belonging. Of course, all of these have affected my reading and blogging life, which is why I haven’t been posting as much as I would want to. I’m still online on a daily basis but it has been easier for me to constantly update the social networks that I have on my phone such as Litsy (username: Chachic), Twitter and Instagram. Going forward, I think this will continue for a while. It’s just so much easier for me to check, update and reply on my phone. My laptop has been acting up and it’s been a pain to open it up and go online. Plus real life stuff happening has made everything harder. The struggle is real!

Anyway, I have a tradition of posting my favorite reads for the previous year whenever the new year rolls around, I’m a few days late but it’s still within the first week of 2017! You can check out my previous posts through these links: 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015. In no particular order, here are the books that I loved in 2016 (linked to my reviews if I have them):

a-darker-shade-of-magic a-gathering-of-shadows The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms the-broken-kingdoms

a-promise-of-fire magic-binds master-of-crows

Act Like It Summer Skin In the Middle of Somewhere Out of Nowhere

Amulet The Stonekeeper Monstress fresh-romance

It’s safe to say that I read more than I blogged in 2016. πŸ˜› That’s seven speculative fiction titles, four contemporary romance and three graphic novels. It’s funny because the easiest genre for me to get into is contemporary romance but it looks like the books that stand out more for me are fantasy titles. I think my sweet spot is fantasy with a well-written romance. In addition to these, if you’ve been following my blog for a while, you would know that I’ve been trying to read and promote books written by Filipino authors. I haven’t read that many of them this year but the ones I enjoyed reading have been:

Beginner's Guide - Love and Other Chemical Reactions Iris After the Incident

That’s 2016 for me. How was yours? What were your favorite reads from the past year? πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “Best of 2016

  1. Great list! Monstress was one of my favorites of the year, too. And the first two Inheritance books are excellent.

    It sounds like I need to try to hurry up and read A Darker Shade of Magic!

    • That’s interesting because I remember I first heard ablout Monstress from you. I’m glad you loved it too.😊 I still need to read the last Inheritance book then I can start on her other titles, just waiting to be in the mood for dense fantasy. You should definitely try A Darker Shade of Magic! Would love to hear what you think of it.

  2. Of the ones you’ve marked as your favorites for 2016, I’ve only read (and LOVED) the Amulet series! It’s seriously such a fun series, and I really enjoyed it. A lot of the other titles (especially the fantasy ones) are on my TBR list though, so maybe I will get to them!

    • Yes, you’ve mentioned in previous comments that you’re a fan of the Amulet series. I really need to read the rest of the books in the series! I hope you do manage to pick up the other titles I mentioned here.πŸ˜†

    • Glad you agree! It really hasn’t been such a great blogging year. But I’m okay with that since I still managed to read some great books.😊

      You know the Roan Parrish books are there because of your rec.πŸ‘ Thanks again for bringing them to my attention! As always, would love to get more recs from you.

    • Jenny, you need to give Kirsty Eagar’s books a try! Summer Skin will be published in the US in 2018. In the meantime, you can probably get a copy of the UK edition of Raw Blue.

    • They do look nice all lined up like that, right?πŸ˜‰ I ordered Summer Skin from Book Depository but it’s out of stock over there now. It will be published in the US in 2018 so it will be more readily available by then.😊 Oh I hope you do read Grace Draven’s books, I would be interested in hearing what you think of them. I think her most well-known title is Master of Crows.

  3. I would enjoy to interact with you more, it’s a pleasure to chat with you about books and other things. Well, I guess I need to read your post about Litsy…

    I loved Act Like It as you know, and I have Summer Skin and In the Middle of Somewhere on my tbr-list. Everyone praises Schwab’s series, but I want to wait until all books in this series would be released, so I can binge read. I hope 2017 would be a great year for you, Chachic!

    • Thank you so much, Ksenia! I would love to interact with you more too. I’ve been posting more on Litsy since this blog post came up so I do hope you get to check out that app because it would be great to have you there.😊 I hope you enjoy reading In the Middle of Somewhere and Summer Skin! And the last Shades of Magic book will be released soon so you’ll be able to read the trilogy when that happens.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

