Chachic's Book Nook

Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year

18 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. I made a similar list last year so I thought it would be fun to do it again. I was already back home in Manila when I did this Top Ten Tuesday topic last year but now I have to work until the end of the week before I can fly home. Counting down the days until I’m off to the Philippines for the holidays! Getting back to the topic on hand, I’ve already received two books from my book club’s Secret Santa but we all know that it will always be nice to get more books as gifts. These are the books that I wouldn’t mind receiving for Christmas:

Ancillary Justice The Keeper of the Mist The Start-Touched Queen rose-and-thorn heroine-complex

the-q Cloudwish tell-the-truth-shame-the-devil where-we-left-off-2 oracles-moon

These are basically the books that are at the top of my wishlist. What about you, what books would you like to receive this Christmas? 🙂

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

18 thoughts on “Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year

  1. I have Cloudwish sitting on my counter. This makes me want to read it sooner! I hope you get all of these books. 🙂
    My TTT.

    • Lucky you! I’ve heard good things about Cloudwish and I’ve enjoyed Fiona Wood’s books in the past so I have a feeling it will be a good one. I hope you enjoy reading it. 🙂

  2. I haven’t seen any of these titles before so it’s fun getting some new recommendations. Just from the title alone, I’m checking out The Q first.
    http://runwright.net

    • I hope you’ve become curious enough about some of these titles to add them to your TBR pile. 🙂 Some of them are part of a series but can be read on their own.

  3. Ooo, lost of new to me books to check out. I hope you receive them all.

    Here’s my TTT post for this week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2016/12/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-i-wouldnt.html

  4. I enjoyed the Ancillary series. It’s such an interesting culture, and concept–and the characters are so well developed. Happy reading! My TTT

    • I’ve heard good things about Ann Leckie’s books from book friends! I think I held off from reading it when the series wasn’t finished yet but now that all the books have been released, I should try to read it soon. 🙂

  5. I just read THE Q, it was excellent.

    I’ve the first Ann Leckie on my Kindle, just need to make time to read it! And I also want to read the Rachel Neumeier.

    Li

    • Yes, I just saw your blog post about The Q. 🙂 I forgot to mention in my comment that I would love to read a book that is Eva Ibbotson-esque. Maybe I should just buy it myself so I could read it. Let me know what you think of Ancillary Justice when you get the chance to read it. I’m actually in the middle of Rachel Neumeier’s The Mountain of Kept Memory but it’s taking me a while to finish it because I’ve been distracted by other books.

  6. This is the first time i learned about The keeper of the mist, amazing cover right there huh..great list by the way! 🙂

    • I agree that The Keeper of the Mist has a gorgeous cover! Another title by the same author, The Mountain of Kept Memory, also has a beautiful cover. I didn’t include that one in my list because I already have it. 😀

  7. Oracle’s Moon is a favorite of mine, so I hope you receive it and get to read it soon. I have The Q on my list, too. I’d also like to read that Roan Parrish book.

    Books I’d like to receive include some Thea Harrison Elder Races novellas, the new Mariana Zapata book, as well as some titles by Kim Fielding.

    • I think Oracle’s Moon is in my wishlist precisely because you recommended it. LOL is The Q on your list because of Angie too? Roan Parrish’s latest has been on my wishlist since it came out, I just haven’t been able to buy and read it yet.

      I’ve tried both Thea Harrison and Mariana Zapata but unfortunately, they weren’t great reads for me. I should look up Kim Fielding.

  8. I have a reservation for Ancillary Justice at the library so fingers crossed it comes in fairly quickly. I hope you get at least some of these for Christmas 🙂

    • Fingers crossed that you get Ancillary Justice soon! I wouldn’t be surprised if I don’t receive any of these as gifts because I rarely get books from family and friends, but I would be happy with a gift card. 😀

  9. I should have asked for the Melina Marchetta book for Christmas! I also realize that I should have *given* the Melina Marchetta book for Christmas — my big sister adored her Lumatere Chronicles, and I bet she’d love the new book even though it’s in a totally different genre. Well, damn. Missed that opportunity.

    • Oh you could have given your sister Jellicoe Road or both Saving Francesca and The Piper’s Son because they’re companion novels. I actually love Melina Marchetta’s contemporary novels more than her fantasy. 🙂 I hope you still get the chance to receive and give her books!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

