Chachic's Book Nook

Ten Books I’m Looking Forward to In the First Half of 2017

33 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

As always, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. 2017 is going to be an epic reading year. There are so many books to be released next year that I can’t wait to read. In just the first half of the year, these are the titles I’m super excited to pick up… some of which I’ve waited YEARS to be published (yes, I’m looking at you, MWT):

breath-of-fire A Crown of Bitter Orange pretty-face a-conjuring-of-light-us strange-the-dreamer

the-thing-about-love the-pearl-thief thick-as-thieves White Hot words-in-the-deep-blue

I’m so excited to read all of these! What about you, what books are you looking forward to in 2017?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

33 thoughts on “Ten Books I’m Looking Forward to In the First Half of 2017

  1. I haven’t heard of most of these before. I’m going to have to look them up. I love the cover of Words in Deep Blue.
    My TTT.

    • I hope you become interested enough in these titles to add them to your TBR pile! 🙂 Yes, Words in Deep Blue has such a lovely cover and it’s set in a bookstore so I’m pretty sure I will enjoy reading it.

  2. ALWAYS ACOL. I actually didn’t know Breath of Fire is coming out next year, too. I do want to read that one as well.

    • Breath of Fire will be released on January 3! That’s not too long of a wait for us. 😀 I haven’t even managed to review A Promise of Fire.

      • Ooh, really not too long a wait. I may end up reading it later on in the year, though. Probably February. February sounds like a good time to read romancey books, haha.

      • I took a chance and requested for a review copy on NetGalley and SURPRISE, I got approved! 😀 Started reading it this weekend.

      • Lucky! I think I signed up for it, too, but wasn’t quite as fortunate with the NetGalley ARC (which is fine, considering I did get a few of the ones I wanted for next year). Hope you like it!

      • Really? I find that surprising because I rarely get approved for anything so whenever I do, I always think that means everyone else got approved.😂 I requested Julie James’ latest as well, but not holding out hope since that’s a very popular title. What were the titles you got approved for?

      • I got approvals for The Bone Witch, The Bear and the Nightingale, and Gilded Cage, which are some of the books I aim to read and review before they come out next year. I also have a huge list of copies that already came out but I probably should review anyway…but I’m just running behind on ARC stuff as is…oops?

  3. Oh, the Wein and Turner are two of my very most anticipated books for 2017! I guess I need to pull together a “looking forward to” list myself — I’ve been such a disaster about blogging lately!

    • New books from MWT and EWein! What are we going to do with ourselves next year?! The only thing that would make things better would be if EWein releases a new Telemakos book. I can’t remember if you’ve read her Lion Hunters series? Oh I’m so behind on blogging, it’s crazy. But I think everyone else will understand because of how unpredictable 2016 has been hahaha. That’s why I’ve mostly been on Litsy, it’s a more convenient alternative to blogging.

  4. Thick as Thieves, definitely! And Stephanie Burgis has a new book coming out, the Dragon with a Chocolate Heart. I’m hoping for a new Black Dog book as well…

    • Oh yes, the Dragon with a Chocolate Heart sounds very interesting! I don’t get to read a lot of MG though. I’ve had Kat, Incorrigible in my TBR pile for ages (I received a copy from last year’s book club Secret Santa). I would love to get a new Black Dog book but I think Rachel isn’t done writing it yet LOL. 😛

  5. ACOL is on everyone’s lists this week, it seems! I just hope it’s as good as the series has been so far. I’m also looking forward to Words of Deep Blue – that cover is beautiful. ❤

    Here’s my TTT.

    • I think all of us who have read the Shades of Magic books are super curious to find out how the series will end. Oh hey, you’re based in Australia, right? Words in Deep Blue has already been released there. I wanted to get a copy but it’s not available on Book Depository so looks like I would just have to wait for the US release. 😦

      • I am! And yeah, it has been released. I’m really into the US cover though, so I might just wait for that one. I might get it from the library in the meantime, but tbh I’m so swamped with books and Christmassy plans right now. 😛

      • Ah yeah, the US cover is gorgeous so it might be worth waiting for. I just have to be patient! I keep hearing good things from Aussie readers about the book though, so it’s hard to wait.

        I know what you mean, I have a long list of things I need to do for the holiday season and I haven’t even started on anything yet. Good luck to us! 😀

      • I’ve heard really good things too! I hope it lives up to that beautiful cover. 💞

        And good luck to us – I can’t believe it’s SO CLOSE to Christmas already. Where did the year go?!

      • Yes, just a little over a week before Christmas! No idea how I’ll be able to finish everything that needs to get done on top of usual work.😅

      • With total dedication, I assume! I wish you all the best and that you have a wonderful Christmas. 🎉

  6. I am so so excited for Strange The Dreamer, A Conjuring of Light and Words of Deep Blue (even though they aren’t on my list!) They sound like AMAZING reads and I can’t wait to dive in

    GREAT LIST, and have a wonderful week

    • Aditi, thank you for the enthusiastic response! It makes me happy to know that you’ve become curious about those three titles after you saw them on my list. 😀 Hope you add them to your TBR pile. A Conjuring of Light is the final book in the Shades of Magic trilogy, you can start with A Darker Shade of Magic first. 🙂

  7. I’m looking forward to Laura Florand’s and Lucy Parkers new releases too. And I’m curious about Words in Deep Blue.

  8. The wait for White Hot has been too LONG! Too FREAKING long 😦

  9. I’m eager to read four books on your list — those by Julie James, Laura Florand, Lucy Parker, and Amanda Bouchet. Several others look good, too.

  10. Super excited to start the Darker Shades trilogy next year! So fun to see the third book on so many lists this week. I hope you enjoy A Conjuring of Light!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

