Chachic's Book Nook

Cover Reveal: A Crown of Bitter Orange by Laura Florand

8 Comments

If you have been following my blog for a while, then you would know that I’m a huge Laura Florand fangirl. She’s an auto-read author for me ever since I discovered and fell in love with The Chocolate Thief back in 2013. I’m a (slightly) bigger fan of her La vie en Roses series set in Provence and featuring a family that has been in the perfume business for generations. Two of the earlier books in the series, Once Upon a Rose and A Wish Upon Jasmine, were included in my best of 2015 list so I’m pretty excited to read the next installment. I’m also itching to reread a novella in the series, A Rose in Winter, because it’s such a charming story set during Christmastime in the South of France. The next book in the series will be released early next year, and the cover and premise have been shared just this week:

______________________________________________________________________________________

A Crown of Bitter Orange by Laura Florand
Book 3 – La Vie en Roses – on sale February 2016

Laura Florand, bestselling author of The Chocolate Kiss, combines lush description, smart dialogue, provocative sensuality, and the perfume of love itself in A Crown of Bitter Orange, an irresistibly lush novel that is an ode to the scents and pleasures of the south of France and the beauty of falling in love.

A Crown of Bitter Orange

Childhood friends. Tristan Rosier might have asked Malorie Monsard to marry him when he was five years old, but things had only gone downhill from there. She’d spent the rest of their lives ignoring him, abandoning him, and destroying his perfumes. Now she was back, to wreak who knew what havoc on his life.

Lifelong enemies. Tristan might choose to dismiss the generations-long enmity between their two families, but Malorie didn’t have that privilege. Like all the other privileges wealthy, gorgeous Tristan took for granted that she couldn’t. But if she was going to restore her family company to glory, she might just need his help.

Or the perfect match? They’d known each other all their lives. Could these childhood friends and lifelong enemies ever uncross their stars and find happily ever after?

______________________________________________________________________________________

Laura FlorandABOUT THE AUTHOR
Laura Florand burst on the contemporary romance scene in 2012 with her award-winning Amour et Chocolat series. Her international bestselling books have appeared in ten languages, been named among the Best Books of the Year by Romantic Times and Barnes & Noble, received the RT Seal of Excellence and starred reviews from Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, and Booklist, and been recommended by NPR, USA Today, and The Wall Street Journal, among others.

After a Fulbright year in Tahiti and backpacking everywhere from New Zealand to Greece, and several years living in Madrid and Paris, Laura now teaches Romance Studies at Duke University. Contrary to popular opinion, this means she primarily teaches French language and culture and does a great deal of research on French gastronomy, particularly chocolate. For more information, please see her website: http://www.lauraflorand.com.

______________________________________________________________________________________

I can’t wait to read this book! I had initially thought that the next book would have a title like Love in Lavender or something like that, but I’m not picky. It would be interesting to find out what the significance of bitter orange in the story is. I think the cover is beautiful and I’m loving the redesign of the earlier books to match this one. Behold the prettiness:

Once Upon a Rose redesign A Wish Upon Jasmine redesign

What do you think of these new covers? Do you like them as much as I do? If you haven’t read any of Laura Florand’s books, you should definitely get started on them as soon as you can.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

8 thoughts on “Cover Reveal: A Crown of Bitter Orange by Laura Florand

  1. I can’t wait to read Tristan’s story. But I don’t like these new covers. I love previous covers, why did they change them?! I think new versions are more generic with usual happy couples. And this is not how I pictured Tristan at all.

    • Interesting feedback because I really like the new covers, I think they’re all pretty and I also like the change in featuring couples instead of just guys on the cover, plus the Provence scenery in the bottom half of the covers. In any case, both the Matt and Damien in the earlier looked different from how I pictured them.

      • Really!? Because the models looked exactly how I pictured Matt and Damien. Like 100 % hit. It happens so rarely that I cherish such covers.

      • Wow, really? Matt may be nearer to my idea of Matt but Damien wasn’t. Well, we all have our ways of interpreting what we read!

  2. I agree we all imagine our visual versions of characters. I guess publisher can’t make everyone happy with covers. But I finally get all that fuss about cover change for Thick as Thieves. I haven’t read those series yet, so I wasn’t upset as many of my friends.

    • Yes, that’s why I usually prefer book covers that don’t have pictures of the characters. Because they rarely match how I see the characters in my mind.

      Sigh, I’m not happy with the redesigned Queen’s Thief covers because the old ones were so thoughtfully created. But if those manage to attract new readers, then well and good! Also, you really need to read that series.😁

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

