Fiction Friday Outfit – Part 2

Last Friday was the year end party for our office and we had a theme of childhood aspirations – we were supposed to dress up in outfits that represented what we wanted to be when we grew up. Now I had a lot of childhood aspirations – I wanted to be a journalist and at one point, kept telling everyone I will be majoring in mass communications, and I also wanted to be a grocery cashier because it seemed fun to push all those buttons in the machine. But I have always been a reader for as long as I could remember, and one of my childhood aspirations was to become a librarian (difficult to achieve in a country like the Philippines where there are no good public libraries). Also, I already have an outfit ready for it – I just modified last year’s Fiction Friday Outfit.

I had lost the letter “B” in my necklace while I was changing the chain because the old one had turned a rusty green color, so now it spells “read more” instead of “bookworm”. I also included my time turner necklace which I didn’t have last year, and also glasses for a more nerdy look. Last but not the least, I had a bookish tote bag and I carried around the hardcovers of Elizabeth Wein’s books. Here’s the whole look:

 .
 .
 .

I’m pretty happy with the whole outfit but everyone thought I was a teacher, so I had to keep pointing out that I’m a librarian and my necklace says “read more” and not “study more”. One co-worker did ask me where else am I, after she noticed my time turner necklace. My very boring and safe answer was working, but I really should have said I was reading ALL THE BOOKS. I wouldn’t mind wearing this on a regular basis, the only reason I don’t is I have to iron the skirt and I’m a lazy girl. I need to find more bookish accessories and clothes so feel free to suggest some if you know of any. πŸ™‚ Hope everyone is having a great weekend!

6 thoughts on “Fiction Friday Outfit – Part 2

  1. I like your outfit. Maybe you should have put your hair up in a bun; that’s the “traditional” look for a librarian, at least here in the US. Lol

    • I was thinking of doing that! But I couldn’t do a proper bun so I just left it down. I went to the hair salon for a hair treatment and the stylist curled the ends for me, which was nice.😊

    • I keep saying I’m allergic to ironing! So I rarely get to wear my clothes that need to be ironed. I’ve even left some of them in Manila because I don’t wear them here in Singapore. πŸ˜›

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

