Chachic's Book Nook

Top New-To-Me Authors I Read For the First Time In 2016

18 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

This is my first blog post in December (yay, the snowfall is back) because I’ve been on an unintentional hiatus the past few weeks due to work and real life getting in the way. Also, my laptop has been acting up so I haven’t been able to go online on it that much. I’ve been updating Litsy (I’m Chachic over there) and Instagram a lot because I can do that on my phone. But I couldn’t let this week pass by without participating in Top Ten Tuesday because I’ve done this topic in previous years (2015, 2014, 2013). As always, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. These are the books that introduced me to authors I was delighted to discover this year:

Monstress Amulet The Stonekeeper a-darker-shade-of-magic a-promise-of-fire The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

fresh-romance Act Like It In the Middle of Somewhere the-hating-game romancing-the-duke

Looks like I have a pretty good mix of both fantasy and romance! It has been a pleasure reading these titles and for some of these authors, I’ve read some of their other books after being introduced to their writing. For the debut authors, I’m eagerly anticipating their next releases. What about you, who are the authors you’ve loved who were introduced to you this year?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

18 thoughts on “Top New-To-Me Authors I Read For the First Time In 2016

  1. I haven’t read any of these, but I want to check out Sally Thorne’s book next year. I’ve heard it’s amazing!
    My TTT.

  2. The Hating Game sounds like a really fun read. Must get myself a copy soon hehe 😀 http://www.curious-daisy.com/top-ten-tuesday/top-5-new-to-me-authors-i-read-for-the-first-time-in-2016/

  3. I recently read Monstress and oooh boy, I can’t wait for more!

  4. I enjoyed several of the same books — those by Amanda Bouchet, Roan Parrish, Sally Thorne and Lucy Parker. I’d happily read more by them all.

    • Yay, good to have it affirmed that you share my taste in books. 🙂 And you have both Amanda Bouchet and Sally Thorne in your list too – both debut authors this year! I echo what you said, I would happily read more by these authors. I have Roan Parrish’s latest in my wishlist and Amanda Bouchet’s sequel will be released in January, while Lucy Parker’s will be in Februay. Not too long of a wait ahead of us! 😀

  5. I read V. E. Schwab for the first time in 2016 as well. I read ” This Savage Song’ and while it wasn’t my favorite read of the year, I have heard really good things about “A Darker Shade of Magic” and hope to read it in 2017. Glad to hear you enjoyed it!

  6. I fell in love with the Amulet series this year too! So excited I finally got a chance to read those, though I still haven’t read the 7th one 😉

  7. I loved Act Like It too, and I have The Hating Game and In The Middle of Somewhere (thanks to Angie) on my tbr-list. New-to-me authors I read for the first time in 2016 are Suffer Love by Ashley Herring Blake, Uprooted by Naomi Novik, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. I also really enjoyed Boys Don’t Knit by T.S. Easton. It’s on youngish spectrum of YA, but so cute and adorable.

    • I can’t wait for the companion novel of Act Like It, Pretty Face, which will be released in February! I hope you enjoy reading The Hating Game, the first part was actually a bit slow for me but it definitely picked up. I also read Roan Parrish’s books because of Angie, so much love for those characters. Uprooted was one of my favorite reads last year and I would love to discover something similar to it. I would have to look up the other titles you mentioned. 🙂

      • Oh, I didn’t know Pretty Face was a companion novel of Act Like It. Now I want to read it even more than before. You haven’t read Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda? I thought I was the last person of Earth to pick it up. Lol.

      • LOL you’re not the last one, I think I have it somewhere in my TBR pile. Yep, from what I heard from Lucy Parker before, Pretty Face will also have a West End setting.

  8. Glad you liked the Tessa Dare! I really need to read A Promise of Fire.

    • I’ve already replied to you on Whatsapp about these two titles. 😛 I tried the Tessa Dare because a friend from Manila gave me a personalized and signed copy from when Tessa visited the Philippines. A Promise of Fire was a fun read and I’m so glad the sequel will be out soon. It was actually available for 0.99usd as a promo price a few weeks back, I should have given you a heads up.

  9. I really liked the Amulet series – I need to get back into that! 🙂

    Lauren @ Always Me

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

