Queen’s Thief News: Thick as Thieves by Megan Whalen Turner

What kind of Megan Whalen Turner fan would I be if I didn’t write a post about the latest news that we’ve been receiving about the Queen’s Thief series? It’s just that real life has been keeping me super busy lately (I’m in Manila in the weekend for my mom’s birthday) and I haven’t had a chance to blog until now. Anyway! During the past week, Greenwillow has released the repackaged covers for the earlier books in the series AND FINALLY made an announcement about book five: Thick as Thieves, which will be released May 2017. Behold, the cover from Publisher’s Weekly and the synopsis from Amazon:

thick-as-thieves

Kamet, a secretary and slave to his Mede master, has the ambition and the means to become one of the most powerful people in the Empire. But with a whispered warning the future he envisioned is wrenched away, and he is forced onto a very different path. Set in the world of the Queenโ€™s Thief, this epic adventure sees an ordinary hero take on an extraordinary mission.

We’ve only waited SIX LONG YEARS for this installment. You can imagine the explosion on Twitter when all the MWT fans found out about this. Mostly all of us speaking in all caps and !!! and general squeeing. Absolutely cannot wait for this! I’m super excited.

Here are the redesigned covers for the earlier books:

the-thief-repackaged queen-of-attolia-repackages the-king-of-attolia-repackaged a-conspiracy-of-kings-repackaged

I must admit that I’m not such a big fan of these new designs. I’ve always thought that the earlier covers designed by Vince Natale were creatively and thoughtfully drawn. I loved that they were relevant to the stories, and that there was a theme of featuring hands and partial faces in all of them. But it’s understandable that redesigns happen in the publishing world and if these new covers manage to attract new readers, well and good!

The Queen’s Thief series is one of my all-time favorite series and I think MWT is a brilliant author. I even organized a Queen’s Thief Week a few years ago to celebrate my love for these books. If you’ve been following my blog and you think we have the same taste in books, then I highly recommend that you read these books if you haven’t had a chance to do so. This series means so much to me, not just because of how much I love the books, but also because I met some of my best bookish friends through this series. I first started being active in the book community when I joined Sounis on LiveJournal, and kept in touch with fellow Sounisians even after moving to WordPress. It’s also one of those series where once I find out that someone is a fan, I immediately want to be friends with them. And I tend to trust book recommendations from fellow MWT fans more. This is how I discovered more favorite authors like Elizabeth Wein. If I find out an author is an MWT fan, I’m also more likely to read their books. Or if I’ve already read their books (like in Melina Marchetta’s case), my view of them goes up even higher. So, so, so. All of that just means that 2017 will be a good year because Thick of Thieves will finally be released!

15 thoughts on “Queen’s Thief News: Thick as Thieves by Megan Whalen Turner

  1. SO EXCITED! It surprised me to hear that Kamet was the main character, but then I thought about it for two seconds and realized he was always intriguing and I can’t wait to hear his story! I love the way MWT takes us in tangential directions.

    • I was surprised when I saw that Kamet will be the main character, I was disappointed for like a second. Then I remembered Costis and how brilliantly the story was told from his POV. So I guess we’ll just have to trust MWT on this. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m sure there’s a reason why she chose Kamet.

  2. Chachic, as I already told you, I am extremely excited about this news. :). And I agree with you about the new covers, I do prefer the older design better but these are okay and tie in the the newest book.

    Kim, I was surprised too, about Kamet being the main narrator of the new one. But, as you said, MWT takes us in tangential directions and keeps us on our toes trying to figure out what will happen next. I have to admit that I had hoped he would be able to escape his Mede owner at the end of QoA. Only a few long months to wait!

    • Yeah, it’s nice that all the covers match! But I’m sure they could have gotten Vince Natale to do a matching cover for the latest installment too. ๐Ÿ˜€ I guess the good thing about the new covers is they don’t give anything away. Also, they emphasize the titles more that anything else – the artwork seem like just add-ons.

      It would be really, really interesting to see how the story will unfold from Kamet’s POV. Because I’m pretty sure we’ll see more of our beloved characters, so there must be a way for Kamet to find his way to them.

  3. I’m still screaming myself hoarse with all the excitement… hopefully I can collect and coherently express my thoughts in the near future… but until then… *MORE SCREAMING*

    • Hahaha that was how we were all reacting on Twitter when the news first came out! I didn’t even want to go to the office, I just wanted to stay in bed and discuss this endlessly.

  4. I’ve not come across this series before, but the new covers would definitely attract me. I checked out the old ones for comparison and they’re good, but the new ones are more eye-catching I think.

    • Oh thanks for sharing that info, Lorraine! That’s interesting feedback from someone who hasn’t read the series, and also makes me feel better about the redesign even though I loved the old covers. I hope you do read the series because I think it’s brilliant. I found the first book a bit slow but totally fell in love with the second book.

  5. Chachic, I find your comment about the first book being a bit slow interesting. I got into it right away, perhaps because I first encountered it as an audiobook. I listened to the audiobook narrated by Jeff Woodman. The voices he gives to each character stay in my mind so that I “hear” them whenever I read the books again; if someone else did the narration of the new book I would feel cheated. I think the narration brought the whole story to life very quickly for me. If you or any others are interested in the audiobooks, the company who made them is Recorded Books Inc. I have all of them on cd except for the first one…a used copy of thatis for sale online for $70 (US dollars) . A bit above my buying budget!

    • I’ve tried some audio books before but couldn’t get into them! I always get distracted by something else. I think audio books will only work for me if I was doing something mindless (like driving) because I can’t multi-task by listening to a book and doing something on the computer. Someone suggested that I should try listening to books that I’ve already read because that might make it easier for me to get into the audio. I might give that a try sometime.

  6. Cannot waaaaaaaaaaaaaait. I like the redesigns fine, but they’re not the most gorgeous covers I’ve ever seen in all my life. I like the blocky little designs, but the empty space at the top and the font they’ve chosen seem a teensy bit basic. Which is good actually! It means I won’t be moved to buy brand new copies of books I already own. :p

    • Oops! Looks like I forgot to reply months ago. I’m not a big fan of the redesigned covers either but what’s important is that we’re FINALLY getting a new book. Hmm maybe I should buy several copies of the old covers to keep.

  7. I wasn’t extremely elated with the covers but I’m so pumped for the book! I love this book so much it’s the best thing omg we need to be friends lol

    The little crown thing underneath the title in every book is nice though.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

