Weekend Trip: Chiang Mai

Exactly a month ago, I wrote a blog post about sense of belonging and how that relates to my current job. I wouldn’t say I’m fully integrated into my new office yet, but I’d like to think I’m getting there. Last Thursday to Saturday, our whole office traveled to Chiang Mai, Thailand for an office team building trip. I’ve experienced that kind of thing before with my previous office when we visited Bintan Island, Indonesia. I’ve never been to Chiang Mai so I was really curious about it. Also, anything that would help in getting to know co-workers and potentially bonding with them is a good thing for me at this point. Our schedule was packed with office-related activities and presentations, but I was able to join a group that went around the city for a couple of hours. Here are some pics:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chiang Mai seems like a beautiful and historical city, I would love to go back and explore more of it. I was in the middle of Magic Binds by Ilona Andrews prior to the trip and I didn’t get much reading done during the trip so I was only able to finish it when I got back, will try to write a review of it soon. I’m still tired from staying up late and traveling though, so not making any promises. If I don’t manage to write new blog posts this week, you can always find me on Instagram and Litsy.

15 thoughts on “Weekend Trip: Chiang Mai

    • I always feel like I haven’t explored enough of Southeast Asia because most of my leaves go to trips to Manila. I think I’d be able to explore more if I was based back home. Hope we both see more of the region someday! πŸ˜†

      • I can’t wait! At least the anticipation will help me get through a long winter here. if I have something like this book to look forward to, I won’t mind shoveling snow out of the driveway or clearing it off the car , or bundling up in my warmest clothes to go outside, for what feels like several months ( even if it really is only about 4 months of cold and snow). πŸ™‚

      • Oh man! Having lived in tropical countries all my life, I can’t imagine how dreary winter must be. I’ve only ever seen snow ONCE when my family went to Yosemite. And that was enough to last me a lifetime. πŸ˜› I love spring though, and my friends say I’ll probably love autumn too. Good that you’ll have something to look forward to then. 2017 will be a great year – new MWT, new EWein, several Ilona Andrews. ❀

  1. Early Autumn is gorgeous, the trees are turning colors, the sky is a beautiful clear blue that you just don’t see the rest of the year;it’s my favorite time of year. Don’t get me wrong, winter can be beautiful too, especially right after a fresh snowfall when everything is covered in a blanket of white snow. It’s when you have to worry about black ice or slush on the roads and idiots who think that just because they have 4 wheel drive, they can drive without being careful, and after the roads have been treated and everything looks grey and then the Arctic express brings the bitter cold in January and February that winter gets old very quickly.

    • Aww, autumn does sound beautiful whenever I see it described in books. Also, I would love to try pumpkin spice latte because I keep seeing other book bloggers talking about it. And yeah, winter seems like it can also be beautiful. I’m just not a big fan of how cold it gets! I mean, I already feel like spring can get really cold for me (or maybe I just don’t have the right cold weather clothes). From what I’ve heard from friends based in countries with four seasons, they get sad/depressed during winter. So I’m assuming that’s also how I’d get hahaha.

  2. What a beautiful place, and blue sky… I’m happy to hear that you adjusting well. Sorry to interrupt your conversation with Janet, but winter can be amazing. Skating, skiing, snow balls and breathtaking views. But you definitely need warm clothes. Lol. I can’t imagine living in a tropical country; I probably will miss season change.

  3. Pingback: October kicked my butt | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

