Chachic's Book Nook

Top Ten Contemporary New Adult Books

28 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. We’re supposed to feature all time favorites of a particular genre and I choose contemporary new adult, because this was one genre (subgenre?) that I haven’t featured a lot on my blog and I also knew I wouldn’t have too many in my list. In fact, I had the opposite problem: I had to browse through my blog and my Goodreads bookshelves quite a bit in order to complete this list. I’m usually up for contemporary novels with a college setting but there aren’t that many titles that stood out for me. In no particular order, these are the ones I’ve liked best:

US paperback for The Piper's Son Summer Skin Raw Blue UK Learning to Fall Fangirl

The Understatement of the Year Him The Deal Easy Where She Went

Some of these are standalones while some are installments in a series – for the latter, I chose the ones I liked the most in the series. I would love to read more books similar to the ones mentioned above so please share your recommendations if you have any. Do you read contemporary new adult novels? Which ones are your favorites?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

28 thoughts on “Top Ten Contemporary New Adult Books

  1. I did the NA genre, too! We had some of the same, but several different.
    My TTT.

  2. In addition to several of these, I’d probably have THE LAST SUMMER (OF YOU & ME), FLAT-OUT LOVE, and MARCELO IN THE REAL WORLD on my list.

    • I was thinking of adding Flat-Out Love in my list but couldn’t decide which one to bump off. 😛 I still haven’t read The Last Summer (of You & Me) and Marcelo in the Real World! I even have a signed copy of the latter. So many books, so little time.

  3. I hadn’t thought of Fangirl and Melina Marchetta being New Adult novels, but they totally are! I think I’ve been conceptualizing NA as a thing that belongs to romance novels only, but of course that’s nonsense! NA can fall into all sorts of genres!

    • I think other people think of Fangirl and The Piper’s Son as YA instead of NA? But they have college settings so I think of them as NA. To be honest, NA is a fairly new term… I remember it started becoming popular just a few years ago. And yeah, most well-known NA books are romance so maybe that’s why that’s the genre that first comes to mind.

    • Yeah, I often look at covers and see mainly romance for NA, but it’s definitely not limited to romance.

  4. I’m not familiar with a number of your selections, so I have some books to investigate.

    My favorite new adult book is The Year We Fell Down by Sarina Bowen and the related novella Blonde Date.
    I also recommend Carry the Ocean (The Roosevelt Book 1) by Heidi Cullinan.

    • I hope you enjoy reading the books that are in this list. Please let me know what you think when you’ve read them. 🙂

      I love Sarina Bowen’s Ivy Years series but my favorite in that is Rikker and Graham’s story. So much love for those two boys. ❤ I've heard good things about Heidi Cullinan's books and I believe I have some of them in my Kindle. I should try to bump them up.

  5. The Deal would be one of my favourite NA books as well, though admittedly I don’t read a lot of the genre. Just so well-written and funny and entertaining. ❤

    • It was so much fun to read The Deal! I don’t think the latter books in the series are as good as the first one but I still enjoyed reading them. 🙂 If you enjoyed The Deal, then you should definitely check out Sarina Bowen’s Ivy Years series. I have a feeling you’ll like it too.

      • I actually agree – The Deal is my favourite out of the whole series, possibly because I just love the leads more than others. I’ll check out Ivy Years! Is that like a companion series where the side characters also get their own romance?

      • I’m still planning to read the last book in the series because I want to see how it ends!

        Each book in the Ivy Years series features a different couple, if that’s what you’re asking? 🙂 I think each book can stand well enough on its own because of that.

      • Yep, that’s what I’m asking! I love books like that – it makes me feel much more connected to the characters when it’s their time to shine. 🙂

      • Lately, I’ve become more of a fan of those kinds of series vs. series that feature only one couple. You’re right, we do get a better sense of the characters that way. 🙂 also, the cameos from characters in earlier books are always fun.

      • Exactly! Every time a side character seems important in one book I’m like, hmm, wonder if they’ll get their own story? And who will they be paired with? It’s fun. 😊

      • Oh yes, I even mention those characters in my review! I’ll say something like, I hope he/she will get his/her own book.

  6. I like your top ten! I never thought of Melina Marchetta, Kirsty Eagar, or Gayle Forman’s books as NA… but I guess technically they are! I’m trying to read more NA so I’ll definitely have to bump the Elle Kennedy books up on my list. I read Trade Me by Courtney Milan recently and reeeeeallly liked it/the characters a lot, so I’d recommend that. 🙂

    • I think it’s because most well-known NA books are romances, so that’s what people tend to think of when NA is mentioned. But the Melina Marchetta, Kirsty Eagar and Gayle Forman books I mentioned have characters how have graduated from high school so I think they’re NA. 😀

      Yes, definitely pick up Elle Kennedy and also Sarina Bowen if you want to read more NA. I’ve read Courtney Milan’s Trade Me and I liked it but didn’t love it.

  7. A big YES to The Piper’s Son. My favourite book, inspired me to write my own NA novel!

  8. The Piper’s Son! Interestingly, if I’ve asked some Aussie YA readers about categories, and quite a few of them consider Marchetta, Eagar and Forman’s books as YA (for those readers, NA is romance only). I have Fangirl in my TBR of Doom. 😀

    • Yeah, sounds like that’s a common thing! If you look at some of the comments above, they also mentioned that they tend to think of NA as romances. 🙂 HA, TBR of Doom is such an appropriate term. I hope you get to Fangirl eventually, it was a fun read.

  9. Oh, some really good picks here! I loved FANGIRL (and obviously the Bowens and Kennedys).

    My list would be a bit old-school and include Diana Peterfreund’s Secret Society Girl series, I came across them the other day when doing a shelf clearout and remembered how much I loved them.

    Li

    • Li, I am not surprised that we share some common favorites! Although sadly, I gave the Secret Society Girl books a try but didn’t enjoy reading them. I know I’m in the minority in that one because so many of you loved the series.

  10. I´ve only read Where she went and Fangirl out of all of these hehe 😀 I need to read some more books from your list 🙂 http://www.curious-daisy.com/top-ten-tuesday/top-10-all-time-favorite-books/

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

