Chachic's Book Nook

Ten Books I Think Should Be Required Reading for YA Fantasy Fans

33 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is a back to school freebie and I choose Required Reading for YA Fantasy Fans as my topic. Now I’m not claiming to be an expert on YA fantasy, it’s just that I’m a huge fan of the genre and these are the titles that I think can be used to introduce new readers to it. In no particular order, my picks are:

The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Howl's Moving Castle Ella Enchanted QueenOfAttolia

Crown Duel2 The Blue Sword Goose Girl_Alison Jay The Golden Compass Fire

What about you, what book would you include if you had to come up with a required reading list for YA fantasy? Do we share some titles?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

33 thoughts on “Ten Books I Think Should Be Required Reading for YA Fantasy Fans

  1. I like this list! I feel like it’s different from other fantasy lists I’ve seen. Great job!

    Check out my TTT list of Collegiate Fiction. 🙂

  2. Oh good list. I would agree with this list. Was it a tough call on deciding THE BLUE SWORD over THE HERO AND THE CROWN? I would have had that problem.

    I’d maybe add a Margaret Mahy book like THE CHANGEOVER…and maybe throw in some epic fantasy like either The Belgariad by David Eddings (ESSENTIAL I tell you), or Dragonlance Chronicles by Weis and Hickman.

    ooo, and I’d also have to add THE ONCE AND FUTURE KING by T.H. White.

    • Ha! I didn’t have a hard time deciding between The Blue Sword and The Hero and the Crown because I loved the former more than the latter. My other McKinley favorites are Beauty and Pegasus (where is the sequel??)

      Oh yeah, The Changeover would have been a good choice too. That’s the only Margaret Mahy book I’ve read and I really enjoyed it.

      Aaand I haven’t read the last three you mentioned. I should, right?

      • Hmm, I think you should read The Once and Future King… The epic fantasy books I’m less sure of recommending you read. I feel like they were great when I was a kid but I’m not sure how well they hold up, so I’m kind of afraid to push you to read them, ha. 🙂

      • Ah I know what you mean, some books mean more to us because we read them when we were younger. I’ll take note of The Once and Future King, although with the current state of my TBR pile, I have no idea if I’ll ever get to it.

  3. I didn’t realize that Howl’s Moving Castle was based on a book until recently. Thanks for sharing!

    Check out my TTT.

  4. I agree, a good list. I read three books one year that affected me so strongly, I purchased all three in hardcover for myself. They are The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner; Becoming Rosemary by Frances M Wood, and The China Garden by Liz Berry. I would have to increase your list to the top 20 to get all my favorites in it.

    • Always nice to find people who agree with my choices! Lucky you, you have The Thief in hardcover. Did you hear about the redesign for all four books? Apparently they’ll be released sometime next year, in preparation for the last two books in the series.

      I haven’t read Becoming Rosemary and The China Garden yet but I have them on my wishlist.

      Oh this is not at exhaustive list by far! I just narrowed it down to ten choices.

  5. I’ve yet to read Howls Moving Castle and Ella Enchanted. I need to change that hehe. http://www.curious-daisy.com/top-ten-tuesday/top-10-books-from-my-childhood/

  6. Ah, what a lovely list! (Though I haven’t read the Crown Duel) Now I am pondering more books… maybe A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston? Rachel Neumeier’s Black Dog? Or some Garth Nix?

    • You haven’t read Crown Duel? You really need to pick it up! I love it so. Have you read anything else by Sherwood Smith?

      Ahh, I’ve had an ARC of A Thousand Nights for ages and I still haven’t read it. I’ll try to do that soon, I just need to be better about reading my physical copies because I keep defaulting to my Kindle.

      Rachel’s Black Dog is indeed a good choice. I can’t wait to read the next installment in that series. I did think about including Sabriel in here but I couldn’t let go of any of the others in my list.

      • I’ve read Barefoot Pirate by Sherwood Smith, which didn’t quite work for me, and Stranger, which I loved. I hear you on having too many favorites!

      • Oh I haven’t read Barefoot Pirate and Stranger (that’s her collab with Rachel Manija Brown, right?) yet. My intro to her writing was Crown Duel and I loved it. I also got to meet her in person when I was in Southern California back in 2009 and she’s a lovely lady.

      • Right, Stranger is with Rachel Manija Brown. I should maybe try Crown Duel, then – and it’s always nice to hear when authors are as nice as their books!

      • Yes, I think Crown Duel is a good one to start with. I hope you get to read it soon. 😀

  7. Love this list! I’d have to give some thought to what else I’d include — so many amazing YA fantasy novels, it’s hard to narrow it down! Off the top of my head, I might add Franny Billingsley’s book Chime to the list? It’s soooo good, one of my utmost favorite YA novels in the last few years.

    • Jenny, it doesn’t surprise me at all that you love this list. 🙂 Okay, I checked my review for Chime and looks like I did enjoy reading it but I didn’t loooove it. And now I barely remember the story.

  8. Good list! I would also add The Hobbit, Lloyd Alexanders The High King Series (the Disney movie the Black Cauldron is based on the books) and Nobody’s Princess. Love you list though.

    MY TTT: http://books.thetechchef.net/top-ten-tuesday-13/

    • The Hobbit is definitely a classic! I remember enjoying Lloyd Alexander’s books when I was young and I bought copies of them to reread but never got the chance, I’ve passed them on to my godson who’s also a bookworm. I don’t think I’ve ever seen the Black Cauldron movie, not sure if it was shown in the Philippines.

    • I second The Hobbit! That was the only book I thought of after reading the, otherwise great, list.

  9. His Dark Materials trilogy is the bomb!

  10. This list is perfect in every way.

  11. These are some great choices, but you’re missing one very important author. TAMORA PIERCE!!! Sorry for the caps, but she’s an all-time favorite author from very early on for me. Thanks for sharing this list 🙂

    • Oh yeah, Tamora Pierce would have been a great choice! I’ve enjoyed reading her books but I haven’t finished reading all of them yet. I think it’s awesome that all of her books have strong heroines.

  12. Awesome list! You’re making my summer reading list get ridiculously long. Feel free to check out my blog if you have any interest in reading great film reviews or simply need some movie suggestions. You could also take a look at my latest post, top ten tuesday christmas movie edition. I would really appreciate it. Thanks for sharing your book wisdom. I look forward to more! https://reelviewsbysara.wordpress.com/blog/

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

