Romance Book Haul

I acquired some books over the past week so it’s time for a book haul post! First is a package that I received from Lucy Parker, author of Act Like It, which is one of my favorite reads this year:

Snail mail from New Zealand! Act Like It by Lucy Parker is one of my favorite reads this year, so of course I jumped at the chance to get a signed copy when the author offered to send me one.πŸ’–πŸ“– with the added bonus of chocolates and a Jane Austen card. Thank you, Lucy! If you haven't read Act Like It, I highly recomment this fun romance set in West End. An actor and actress have to pretend to be in a relationship. I can't wait to read the next book in the series. I have a feeling I'll be tempted to reread Act Like It while waiting for the next one. . . . #ActLikeIt #LucyParker #CarinaPress #romance #bookstagram #instabooks #IGreads #bibliophile #booknerd #bookblogger #bookworm #bookphotograph #bookhaul #paperback #signedcopy #chocolates #snailmail #JaneAustenquote #PotterStyle #ChachicsBookNook

A post shared by Chachic (@chachickenpie) on

 

Next is a debut contemporary romance from an Aussie author, I kept hearing good things about this love-hate office romance so I couldn’t resist grabbing it even though it’s more expensive that what I’d normally pay for:

Blueberry lavender chocolate tart, cucumber mint tea and The Hating Game by Sally Thorne. Taking a break from posting Filipino books to talk about my current read. This debut romance was first recommended by @bookthingo, followed by rave reviews from other romance readers. I normally wouldn't spend 9.99usd on an ebook of a debut author but I tried the Kindle sample and wanted to keep going. I just got to a scene where the hero makes tea for the heroine. πŸ‘Œβ˜• . . . #TheHatingGame #SallyThorne #WilliamMorrow #HarperCollins #romance #officeromance #bookstagram #instabooks #IGreads #bibliophile #booknerd #bookblogger #bookworm #bookphotograph #debutnovel #Kindle #ebook #TartBlanc #MilleniaWalk #tart #tea #teatime #cucumbermint #TeaForte #teapot #teacup #bookandtea #cafehoppingSG #SGfood #ChachicsBookNook

A post shared by Chachic (@chachickenpie) on

 

Last but not the least, a debut fantasy romance that I’ve also heard positive feedback on:

 

I think it’s pretty obvious from these pictures that I like tea and desserts, right? πŸ™‚ I really should cut back on sweets but they’re just so hard to resist. Anyway, I’ve finished reading both The Hating Game by Sally Thorne and A Promise of Fire by Amanda Bouchet so I’m hoping I’ll be able to write reviews for both soon. As always, not making any promises because I’m always behind on reviews!

What about you guys, have you bought or received any books lately? Also, please feel free to share recommendations if you have titles similar to the ones I mentioned here. Would love to find similar reads.

13 thoughts on “Romance Book Haul

    • Janice! So nice to hear from you. πŸ™‚ Act Like It was really good, wasn’t it? As for The Hating Game, I have mixed feelings about it too. I got a weird vibe from earlier parts of it, when the characters were hating on each other. But it got better when their relationship progressed. I had to let the story sink in before deciding that I enjoyed reading it overall. Hope that helps! I’m still trying to formulate my thoughts for a review.

      • Yes, really liked Act like It. Made me think of a Susan Elizabeth Phillips book with a similar premise: What I Did for Love, except in this case the actors get drunk and wake up married in Vegas, then decide to stay that way for publicity. I liked that one too, but I think maybe found some parts on the cheesy side if I recall correctly. Still good though.

        Will wait for your review on The Hating Game i think. πŸ™‚

      • Oh I haven’t read that Susan Elizabeth Phillips title. Actually, I don’t think I’ve tried any of her books and she’s been recommended to me before. Maybe I should give her a try the next time I’m in the mood for contemporary romance.

        As for my review of The Hating Game, you might have a long wait ahead of you. πŸ˜› I haven’t been able to sit down and write a review in ages. I should really schedule some time for it.

  1. I’ve seen the latter two pop up in my feed quite a bit recently! I’m tempted but will probably wait for price drops for both.

    And so cool that you’ve a hard copy of ACT LIKE IT.

    Li

    • I wish I had your patience! I should have waited for the price for both to drop before getting them.

      Yep, it was awesome that Lucy Parker sent me a paperback of Act Like It. I’ll probably reread it before the next book comes out. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Fantasy Romance Book Haul | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

