Meet Up With Honey

Yesterday was a public holiday in Singapore, which is a good thing because I was able to sleep in (haven’t been feeling well since Saturday) and I got to meet Honey while she’s here. Honey is the blogger behind Coffeespoons, co-founder and head of the annual Filipino ReaderCon and currently the Southeast Asia sales manager of Penguin Random House (a.k.a. dream job of book nerds). An all around bookish person! Because of various bookish events, we used to see each other on a regular basis back when I was still based in Manila. But we haven’t really had a chance to meet up since I moved to Singapore. So I was glad that Honey had enough time during her trip for a catch up. We met up at Ah Teng’s Bakery at Raffles Hotel:

Ah Teng's Bakery

I wasn’t able to take a pic of what we had because I wasn’t really planning to document this meet up. But I need to thank Honey for shouldering the cost of the first round of our merienda (snack time). Maraming salamat! πŸ˜€ Here we are at the courtyard of Raffles Hotel, one of Singapore’s historic places:

With Honey at Raffles Hotel

Raffles Hotel ourtyard

We walked around CHIJMES, which was a former convent that has been converted into a very commercial area with various bars and restaurants. Both of us were trying to figure out Instagram Stories while we were walking around:

CHIJMES

CHIJMES 2

CHIJMES 3

And then we headed to Tiong Bahru Bakery for a second round of merienda, which again I didn’t get to take a picture of. It was so much fun chatting with Honey for several hours because we had LOTS to catch up on. We talked about books, of course. Jobs, both previous and current ones. Life in general. I think we could have kept going on and on if we didn’t have other things that we wanted to do. A holiday well-spent. πŸ™‚ I hope more bookish friends get to visit Singapore soon.

4 thoughts on “Meet Up With Honey

    • Yes, it’s always nice when I have friends from Manila visit SG! Even more fun to talk about books with someone face to face, since most of my bookish discussions are done online.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

