Ten Books I HAD to Buy But Still Haven’t Read Yet

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is TTT Rewind and we could all pick any past topic that we’ve missed. I chose Ten Books I HAD to Buy But Still Haven’t Read Yet because this is totally applicable to me! Even though I already have a huge TBR pile, I still feel like there are books that I have to buy RIGHT AWAY for various reasons. It can be because I’m in the mood to buy books or because a book has been highly recommended by a trusted source or there’s an ongoing book sale. The funny thing is, these books just end up sitting on my bookshelf, waiting patiently to be read. I’m sure most of you will be able to relate. πŸ™‚ Here are ten books that I felt like I had to buy but still haven’t found time to read them yet:

Monstress The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl - Squirrel Power Ms. Marvel Lazarus Alex + Ada

This One Summer A Thousand Nights Black Dove White Raven - UK Roses and Rot Clean Sweep

I guess this post can work as a reminder for me to bump these up the TBR pile. Also, to TRY not to buy more books until I’ve finished reading these. Kinokuniya has 20% off today and I was able to resist! Mostly because my last book haul was just a few weeks ago. Anyway, have you guys read any of the books in my list? Feel free to encourage me to read any of them. πŸ˜€ Also, what books did you HAVE to buy but still haven’t read? What TTT topic did you choose this week?

27 thoughts on “Ten Books I HAD to Buy But Still Haven’t Read Yet

    • Have you read all the Ms. Marvel books? I have volume 2 as well, and I heard that the latter volumes are even better. Haha I will definitely let you know what I think of Monstress when I get to read it. πŸ˜›

  1. I can definitely relate to buying books faster than you can read them! πŸ™‚

    Roses and Rot is one of my favorite novels released this year, and Monstress is excellent with gorgeous artwork.

    • Oh hey, you also loved Roses and Rot! I picked it up because Maureen was raving about it. As for Monstress, I knew I’ve heard good things about it from you, the Book Smugglers and my friend Maggie on Instagram. I wonder when I’ll find time to read them? πŸ˜›

  2. You make me feel better about my own bookbuying πŸ˜€ I often just HAVE to buy a book and then never get around to actually reading it. I’ve not read any from your list but I also bought A Thousand Nights. The cover was just.. so beautiful I couldn’t help myself.

    • You are not alone! We’re all in this together. πŸ™‚ Both the US and UK editions of A Thousand Nights are gorgeous. And I heard the story is pretty good too. I just need to find tiiiiime for it.

  3. I also can’t resist books on sale (and Booksale, haha), and half my bookshelf space is for unread books. Oops.

    This One Summer is a good read! It’s the second graphic novel I ever bought and it got me buying more standalones, if that’s what they’re called.

    • LOL I don’t even visit used bookstores anymore! I still haven’t read any of the books in my haul from the last time I went to a bargain book sale. πŸ˜›

      Yep, they’re called standalones. I think there really should be more graphic novels that are standalones. The ones I have on my TBR pile now are This One Summer, Anya’s Ghost and The Last Dragon.

  4. Lots of comics! Well, I can specifically recommend The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, as that is a treasure, and This One Summer is also very good. I have Alex + Ada out from the library as we speak and am planning to start reading it maybe today? Depending on how much I get done the rest of the afternoon. Maybe today! Definitely this week!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

