#BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy – Week 1 Round Up

It’s been a week since #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy started (find out more about the event here) and I wanted to do a round up of the posts I’ve made on Instagram. I have been posting a pic of a book written by a Filipino author everyday, and so far, I think I’ve done a good job of finding a background or object that goes well with the story. It’s been fun to come up with these shots but I have no idea if I’ll be able to keep up with a post a day. Let’s see how it goes.

I’ve realized that I can embed Instagram posts on WordPress so I’m trying it out now, instead of uploading the pics from my phone like I used to.

Day 1:

Truffle ramen and a Filipino romance set in Japan. Perfect combination, right? While truffle fries are pretty common in SG, this is the first time I've tried truffle ramen and it was delicious. Thanks to @jambitzz for the heads up. August is #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy so I will be reading and posting about books written by Filipino authors during this month. Anyone can join and use the hashtag. If you've been planning to read Filipino books, then now is the perfect time to do so! πŸ’–πŸ“– some titles can even be requested on Overdrive. . . . #BeCarefulWhatYouWishFor #CPSanti #romanceclass #Filipinoromance #Filipinoauthor #SupportFilipinoauthors #romance #WeNeedDiverseBooks #bookstagram #instabooks #IGreads #Kindle #ebook #bibliophile #booknerd #bookblogger #bookworm #bookphotography #reading #KanshokuRamen #truffleramen #ramen #truffle #SGfood #SGeats #SGfoodie #IGSG #foodstagram #ChachicsBookNook

A post shared by Chachic (@chachickenpie) on

 

Day 2:

My second #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy post features my most recent read, Beginner's Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions by Six de los Reyes. This Filipino romance came highly recommended by Courtney Milan. While I didn't love it as much as she did, I found it to be sweet and cute in a really nerdy way. Full review up on my blog (link in my bio). Kaya, the main character in the book, loves matcha lattes. My go-to place for matcha is St. Marc's Cafe. . . . #BeginnersGuideLoveandOtherChemicalReactions #TalkingNerdy #SixdelosReyes #romanceclass #romance #Filipinoromance #Filipinoauthor #SupportFilipinoauthors #WeNeedDiverseBooks #Kindle #ebook #bookstagram #instabooks #IGreads #bibliophile #booknerd #bookblogger #bookworm #bookphotography #StMarcCafe #matcha #matchalatte #cafehoppingSG #cafe #ChachicsBookNook

A post shared by Chachic (@chachickenpie) on

 

Day 3:

 

Day 4:

 

Day 5:

Today's #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy post is @minavesguerra's Wedding Night Stand, a novella set during a wedding just outside Manila. I really enjoyed this and liked the MCs, Andrea and Damon. I was happy with where this book ended, but the couple's story is continued in a longer book called What You Wanted. . . Thanks to my SG BFF @nj_reyes for the assist in this shot. You know you have a true friend when she willingly looks for a bridal shop with you, just for the sake of a bookstagram. . . . #MinaVEsguerra #WeddingNightStand #ChicManila #newadult #romanceclass #romance #Filipinoromance #Filipinoauthor #SupportFilipinoauthors #WeNeedDiverseBooks #bookstagram #instabooks #IGreads #bibliophile #booknerd #bookblogger #bookworm #bookphotograph #Kindle #ebook #wedding #bridalgown #fashion #ChachicsBookNook

A post shared by Chachic (@chachickenpie) on

 

Day 6:

Mocha, lemon tart and @minavesguerra's What You Wanted, the book that continues Andrea and Damon's story from Wedding Night Stand. This is probably the foodie-est out of all of Mina's books, and I approve!β˜•πŸ½ Check out this snippet about Damon, which was why I chose to take a pic of the book with coffee: "Damon's mealtimes where freakishly long, but he always ended them with coffee… Coffee meant he had digested, exhausted all topics of conversation, and was ready to go do something else." . . . #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy #MinaVEsguerra #WhatYouWanted #ChicManila #romanceclass #romance #Filipinoromance #Filipinoauthor #SupportFilipinoauthors #WeNeedDiverseBooks #bookstagram #instabooks #IGreads #bibliophile #booknerd #bookblogger #bookworm #bookphotograph #indie #cafehoppingSG #SGfood #SGdesserts #ExploreSingapore #TiongBahruBakery #coffee #mocha #latteart #lemontart #bookandcoffee #ChachicsBookNook

A post shared by Chachic (@chachickenpie) on

 

Day 7:

"We talk about how Paris is a city built for both lovers and loners; about how it can be both familiar and new, how she can feel like home but never get old. We talk about museums and the gardens, the bridges and the streets, and wonder how every corner can be so darn pretty. I love how the conversation is growing. It's full of twists and turns that we have no problem following – and it's been so long since I talked to a man this way, in a coffee shop, while wearing nice clothes. I feel so full, and I know it's not because I had way too many cookies."πŸ“šπŸ“–πŸ—Ό – Loveless. Childlesss. Clueless by @mirenbflores . . . I know the Kindle cover in this shot is a little too light, but it's so difficult to get a clearer pic. Sometimes, it can be frustrating when the book cover on Kindle isn't as nice as it is on a physical copy. Makes bookstagramming more challenging! . . . #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy #LovelessChildlessClueless #MirenBFlores #romanceclass #romance #Filipinoromance #Filipinoauthor #SupportFilipinoauthors #WeNeedDiverseBooks #bookstagram #instabooks #IGreads #bibliophile #booknerd #bookblogger #bookworm #bookphotograph #bookquote #indie #postcards #Paris #ChachicsBookNook

A post shared by Chachic (@chachickenpie) on

 

These pictures are bigger than what I’m used to posting on the blog, but I like that it’s linked to my original Instagram post. I also couldn’t find a way to center the pics so they’re all on the left.

If you’re interested in featuring or reading Filipino books, there’s still lots of time for you to join #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy. πŸ™‚ I would love for more readers (both Filipino and non-Filipino) to read books written by Filipino authors.

3 thoughts on “#BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy – Week 1 Round Up

    • Mission accomplished, then! πŸ™‚ I wanted to make the effort for the sake of the authors and the readers who have read these books, but also to convince NEW readers to pick them up. I hope you get to read some of these soon! They’re all internationally available through Amazon.

  1. Pingback: #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy – Week 2 Round Up | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

