#BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy 2016 – time to read Filipino books!

It’s that time of the year again! Today marks the start of #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy, a campaign that was launched last year and will be celebrated again this year. August is Buwan ng Wika in the Philippines, which is the month dedicated to celebrating the Filipino language. To coincide with this, a campaign is being hosted by Edgar Calabia Samar (Twitter, Facebook), author of the Janus Silang series, to encourage people to read Filipino books. #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy can be roughly translated as “Month of Filipino Authors” or even “Month of Filipino Books”. Anyone can participate by using this hashtag on various social media platforms – Twitter, Instagram and Facebook. So if you’ve been meaning to try reading a Filipino book, this is the perfect time to do so!

There’s an overview of the campaign, which you can read over here (it’s written in Filipino). And interestingly, I was briefly mentioned in there:

BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy - Chachic's Book Nook

The caption can be translated to “observe Chachic’s Book Nook’s elaborate preparation for pictures”. Hahaha! I think it’s awesome that I got a shout out. I did a round up of my #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy posts last year, which you can view here. I will mostly be posting on Instagram with links shared on Twitter and Facebook, but I’m planning to do a round up on the blog as well.

BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy2016

Since the title of the campaign is in Filipino, I believe the main goal is to encourage Filipino readers to pick up titles by Filipino authors. But I am also hoping that non-Filipino readers would be interested in picking up Filipino books. There are loads of books by Filipino authors that are written in English. In fact, those are the type of books that I’m planning to read this month. Some of them can even be requested from Overdrive. So come and join the fun. 🙂

7 thoughts on “#BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy 2016 – time to read Filipino books!

    • You’re in luck! Because like I said in my post, there are tons of Filipino books that are written in English. 😀 I hope you’re able to find some that you’ll find interesting. What type of book are you looking for?

  1. Hello Chachic, I have just been signed by Unbound, the literary crowdfunding publisher, for my novel, Blood On The Banana Leaf, which explores the dark heart of maid culture in Singapore. I think this is the first novel to touch on this incredibly important social justice issue. At least two of the main characters are Filipina. I wonder if you might be interested in featuring it on your blog and hopefully encourage pledges. I hope to have it translated into both Tagalog and Indonesian. If you would like to go to my Unbound page.

    https://unbound.com/books/blood-on-the-banana-leaf

    I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you, Tabby

  2. Pingback: #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy – Week 1 Round Up | Chachic's Book Nook

    • I really hope you’re able to participate! 🙂 Maybe you can feature titles that you’d want to read? If not, then I hope you’re able to find good books to add to your TBR pile.

  3. Pingback: #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy 2017 – time to read Filipino books! | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

