Comics and Chocolates Haul

My favorite bookstore in Singapore is Kinokuniya because they have the best stocks. I signed up for membership last January and I have been steadily increasing the size of my TBR pile because if it. They have a marketing trick that works well on me – members get a 10% discount on regular days and a 20% discount on special sale dates. I think sales happen at least once a month? In any case, I’m always tempted to buy books whenever there’s a sale because I want to take advantage of the bigger discount. So this was my comics and chocolates haul last Thursday:

Comics and Chocolates Haul - July 2016

Monstress, Vol. 1: Awakening by Marjorie M. Liu and Sana Takeda
The Last Dragon by Jane Yolen and Rebecca Guay
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Vol. 3: Squirrel, You Really Got Me Now by Ryan North and Erica Henderson

The dark chocolates are from La Cure Gourmande – the four on the left are mint ganache, the middle ones are dark chocolate ganache and the last four are pear-flavored. As for the books… I have been hearing good things about Monstress ever since the first issue was released. I didn’t want to start reading a graphic novel per issue so I had to wait for Vol. 1 to be released. I saw The Last Dragon in a previous bookstore visit and marked it as something I would come back for because I like standalone graphic novels. As for The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, I’ve had the first two volumes since January but still haven’t read them yet! So many books, so little time. I had not anticipated how much real life will be sucking time away from reading.

I also bought an ebook yesterday based on a recommendation from romance author Courtney Milan (you can see her tweets about it here).

Beginner's Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions

Beginner’s Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions (Talking Nerdy #1) by Six delos Reyes is a Filipino romance novel that has a nerdy heroine. I’ve had it on my wishlist for a while but I one clicked it after I saw the rec for Courtney Milan because I don’t want to get left behind in supporting a fellow Filipino!

I really should stop buying more books when I still have SO MANY in my TBR pile but it’s so hard to resist. To be fair, I’ve already finished reading (but not reviewing) the last two books in my previous book haul post. I could use that as my excuse for buying more this time. What about you, have you acquired any new books lately? Have you read any of the titles included in this post? Let me know what you think of them if you have.

9 thoughts on “Comics and Chocolates Haul

  1. I want to hear more about the pear flavored chocolate! I look forward to your review of Beginner’s Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions.

    • I tried to look for a description online but couldn’t find one! It’s basically a dark chocolate ganache flavored with pear. I just started reading Beginner’s Guide. I’ll keep you posted! πŸ™‚

  2. I still want everything in that first photo πŸ˜€ I’m part-way through the first volume of The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl and I LOVE it. I’ve actually been reading it really, really slowly to make it last. She’s so cute and optimistic, which is definitely something we could all do with a little bit more of!

    • Thanks again for validating my choices. πŸ˜› I’ve heard good things about The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl from Stephanie Burgis, she’s actually the one who convinced me to buy copies. And she said the series just keeps getting better. Good to know that you’re also enjoying it. I could use some cheerful characters nowadays!

  3. Dark chocolate candies are straight from heaven. Also, I’m excited to hear what you think of the Filipino romance novel. I saw Courtney Milan’s recommendation of it too, but I was going to wait to hear from some of my blogger pals before buying it myself.

    • Dark chocolate is the best! But it’s not always easy to find some good quality dark chocolate over here.

      I just started reading it, but will definitely keep you posted. I wonder if you can request it from your library? Not sure if it’s one of the Filipino romance titles available on Overdrive.

  4. Pingback: Beginner’s Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions by Six de los Reyes | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. I always say I’m going to tone down my book shopping, but it just never seems to happen… which means my TBR is always gigantic. I can’t complain about having so many potential books to read though! πŸ˜‰ These comics look fantastic, and I’m especially curious about Monstress, which has an EPIC cover. I also really think the chocolates look amazing and wish I could steal them through the screen!

    • Definitely can’t complain about having lots of books to choose from. πŸ˜› I just feel guilty about buying more books when I still have so many that I haven’t read yet. I’m excited to read all of these comics! I just need to find time to do so. And I only have two pieces left of the chocolates. πŸ˜›

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

