Chachic's Book Nook

Ten Books Set Outside the US

16 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. So many books, especially the more well-known ones, are set in the States so I think it’s great that we get to highlight books set in other countries this week. To narrow down my pool of choices, I’m sticking with contemporary fiction that I’ve enjoyed. I also tried to limit my choices to what I’ve read in the past two years or so. Here are my picks (linked to my reviews if I have them):

Philippines
What You Wanted Loveless Childless Clueless Choco Chip Hips

India
A Bollywood Affair

Australia
Summer Skin Wildlife

France
Once Upon a Rose The Chocolate Temptation

UK
Act Like It The Winter Sea

What about you, what are books set outside the US that you’ve enjoyed?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

16 thoughts on “Ten Books Set Outside the US

  1. I keep finding so many books on these lists that I haven’t read. I haven’t read any of yours. 😦 Here are some of the books I’ve read outside the US: http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/07/19/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-set-outside-the-u-s/

  2. I read Act Like It because of one of your earlier posts and I really liked it! Haven’t read anything else on your list, though.

    My TTT: http://haphazardbookshelves.blogspot.com/2016/07/ten-books-set-outside-us.html

    • Aww, I’m so glad you enjoyed reading Act Like It! Such a good read. And thanks for letting me know that you found out about it through my blog. Hope you get to read the others in this list. 🙂

  3. It’s my first time hearing about these books! I’ll be sure to check them out! 😀
    My Top Ten Tuesday!

  4. I’ve read (& loved) all these but NONE of your Filipino pics! Bad reader! *slaps wrist*

    If you’re sticking to contemps — I’d add ANYTHING by Melina Marchetta (but I think we are on the same page here) and Ellie Marney’s EVERY series. Did you ever get around to reading those??

    • You can request the Filipino titles I mentioned here from your library! I think they’re available on Overdrive.

      Yes to Melina Marchetta, of course. But I mentioned that I chose titles from books I read in the past two years, to narrow down my choices. Oooh I still haven’t read Ellie Marney’s books! Which is a shame because I’ve interacted with her quite a bit on Twitter and Instagram. I need to bump them up.

  5. Ooh, I might have to check out some of these books at some point. Yay for adding more to my TBR!

  6. I enjoyed Tigers and Devils by Sean Kennedy (a male/male romance) set in Australia.
    Joanna Bourne’s historical romance The Spymaster’s Ladyis set in France and England.
    Jennifer Ashley’s The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie is a historical romance set in England, France, and Scotland.
    I could name a whole host of books set in England since I enjoy reading regency romances. One that stands out is Slightly Dangerous by Mary Balogh; the author also has several set in Wales.
    Many of Lisa Kleypas’ historical romances are set in England; I like her Wallflowers quartet.

    • I need to look up Tigers and Devils, thanks for the rec! I thoroughly enjoyed Joanna Bourne’s spy historical romances. In fact, they’re the only historical romances that I’ve loved. I’ve enjoyed others but they all kind of blur together after I read them. I think it’s easier to find books set outside the US in historicals, but I chose to focus on contemps in my post.

  7. Too many to count! But I’m adding a ton of my books to my TBR list around this meme, which is the besssssst.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

