Ten Books I Loved That Have Under 700 Ratings On Goodreads

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week, we’re supposed to talk about books that we enjoyed that have under 2000 ratings on Goodreads. This is a great topic because we get to highlight under-the-radar books that we’ve read. So it looks like SO MANY of the books that I’ve enjoyed reading are underrated because they haven’t even gotten 1000 ratings on Goodreads. These were the books that I loved (they were my favorites the year I read them) that have less than 700 ratings on Goodreads. Why 700? Because that was the number of ratings I reached when I got to ten titles. I could have kept going but I wanted to focus on these for now:

Loveless Childless Clueless Choco Chip Hips Learning to Fall A Wish Upon Jasmine Girl Before a Mirror

Northlander The Sunbird Medair Touchstone Trilogy Black Dog

Five contemporary, three fantasy, one sci-fi and one historical fiction… that’s a pretty good mix. I thought all of these books were great and would love for more readers to pick them up. If you feel like we like the same type of books then you should definitely check these out. You can click on the image to see my reviews. What about you, what are underrated books you loved?

28 thoughts on “Ten Books I Loved That Have Under 700 Ratings On Goodreads

    • Oh yay, glad we both have Laura Florand on our lists! She definitely deserves to get more readers. I loved The Chocolate Touch too but I love her La Vie en Roses series SLIGHTLY more than her Amour et Chocolat books. πŸ™‚

  1. I should read the Sunbird! I read the Winter Prince last year but never quite made it on to the other books in the series. But Black Dog is on my list, too! and I’ve been meaning to read Andrea K. Host for a while now.

    • YOU TOTALLY SHOULD! I mean if you’ve already read The Winter Prince then you should really continue with the rest of the series. πŸ˜€ You can read A Coalition of Lions then The Sunbird followed by the two books after that. They used to be out of print but they’re all available in ebook format now.

      I can’t wait for the next book in the Black Dog series. It has been so much fun to read them. Oooh you haven’t read any of Andrea K. Host’s books? I think you’ll like them. My favorites are the Medair duology and the Touchstone trilogy but I was introduced to her writing with And All the Stars, which is a standalone.

      • I can get all the Wein books through ILL, even though my library doesn’t have them – I think I had them for a while and didn’t get to them in time. 😦 And I’ve been sure that I would like Andrea K. Host, given that you and Maureen both like her so much. A standalone might be a less intimidating place to start!

      • Do you borrow ebooks from your library? Maybe you can request the ebook versions of EWein’s books? πŸ™‚ I know Rachel Neumeier is also a dan of Andrea K. Host, she even organized a blog event for Andrea’s books.

      • Ooh, thank you for that thought! Hoopla does have the earlier EWein books! My problem right now is I have more books checked out than I think I can read before they are due… but I will try to plan for next month!

  2. Great list! I’m trying to read more Filipino books this year, and I’d love to read Choco Chip Hips! Do you know where it’s available? In print sana, haha. Thanks!

    My TTT: haphazardbookshelves.blogspot.com/2016/07/top-ten-underrated-books.html

  3. Andrea Host and Rachel Neumeier deserve way huger audiences; they’re so much better than so much of the bestselling stuff out there! Laura Florand I read because of your reviews, I think, and really enjoyed. And Elizabeth Wein: I can’t think of a superlative that’s superlative enough. She’s brilliant.

    • Yes to both Andrea Host and Rachel Neumeier. Their books are great but they don’t have as many readers as they deserve. I keep hoping I’m able to convince more people to read their books.

      Oh yay, that’s so nice that you read and enjoyed Laura Florand’s books because of my reviews. I can’t wait for her next release, she’s become an auto-read author for me.

      Agree with what you said about EWein! She’s amazing. I find it funny that Code Name Verity has SO MANY fans and yet they don’t read the rest of her backlist. What’s stopping them from picking up those books?

  4. What a fun post. I’ve only read the Laura Florand book, but a number of your other choices sound enticing.

    Some favorite titles, eh? (This could change by tomorrow, you know.)

    A very old favorite with a mere FIVE ratings is Dream Walker by Jacqueline Marten. (Ignore the unattractive cover you see on Goodreads; my copy’s cover is far better!)

    Tell Me No Lies by Elizabeth Lowell is another old favorite — this one is a little high with 2074 ratings.

    A newer favorite is Dark Horse (Class 5, #1) by Michelle Diener has 1847 ratings.

    Some old Star Trek favorites:

    Uhura’s Song (Star Trek: The Original Series #21) by Janet Kagan has 1688 ratings.
    Time for Yesterday (Star Trek: The Yesterday Saga, #2) by A.C. Crispin has 1239.
    Doctor’s Orders (Star Trek: The Original Series) by Diane Duane has 1373.

    • Kareni, I hope you check out the other titles in my list! I’m not familiar with the ones from your list either so I’ll them up on Goodreads later, but maybe not the Star Trek ones since I’m not that familiar with that universe anyway. I never followed the TV series and only watch the new movies.

  5. I have such love for the Host books! Good choices.

    I’ve THE WINTER PRINCE on my Kindle, I need to make the time to read it. And I’ve been seeing such good things about the Liza Palmer as well.

    Li

    • Andrea K. Host’s books really deserve more love! I still haven’t read some of her books (I think Stained Glass Monsters) so I also need to do that soon.

      Personally, I didn’t love The Winter Prince but it’s good to read it to get a better understanding of the characters.

      Liza Palmer’s books are standalones so you can start with any of them! I loved Nowhere But Home and Girl Before a Mirror, and really enjoyed Seeing Me Naked.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

