Ten Bookworm Delights

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is a freebie and I chose to do a topic that I missed a few weeks ago: Bookworm Delights, or random bookish things that make me happy. In no particular order, my picks are:

Book cafes! Of course, I’m a fan of normal cafes where I can hang out and read but book cafes are even better. I have posts about book cafes that I’ve visited both in Manila and Singapore in this tag.

The Reading Room SG - artwork

The Reading Room cafe in Singapore, which I visited last Sunday.

Book sales and bargain books. I’m such a sucker for bargain or discounted books, like I can go crazy whenever Kinokuniya has a 20% store-wide discount. I also tend to one click Kindle editions when they’re just 0.99usd or 1.99usd.

The smell of books. That smell that hits you whenever you walk into a library or a bookstore or really any place that has piles of books. It’s such a comforting kind of smell, and I know it’s been replicated by some perfume and candle brands but I don’t know if they’re any good.

Bookish clothes and accessories. I think it makes every book nerd happy to wear something that represents books that she/he loves. Even better if someone else recognizes it! That has never happened to me though.

Harry Potter time turner necklace

Time turner from Harry Potter

Never being bored during my spare time because there are always books waiting to be read (and a blog waiting to be updated). Being a book blogger is really more of a lifestyle than just a mere hobby, and I know I would find life a bit more difficult to handle if I didn’t have books or my blog to cheer me up.

Having free time to read like when several hours stretch out when I don’t have to do chores or run errands or meet people. Or give up sleep to get some reading done. When you have an ever expanding TBR pile, it always feels like there’s never enough time to read so it feels like a gift when you get pockets of uninterrupted reading time.

Getting meaningful comments on my blog, like the type that can spark discussion or the ones that have book recommendations based on what they’ve seen me talk about. Those are the best kinds of comments and I’m very grateful whenever I receive them.

When someone picks up a book based on my recommendation. It still comes as a pleasant surprise whenever someone mentions that they read a book based on something that I said. And it makes me even happier when someone else enjoys a book as much as I did.

Book-related anticipation. When you’re in the middle of a really good book and can’t wait for the work day to finish. Or when you’re counting down the days, weeks, moths or in some cases, YEARS until the release date of a sequel or a book that you’ve been waiting for. I know I keep saying “I can’t wait!” to read a certain title, but the anticipation is part of the fun.

Having bookish places to visit when on vacation, like bookstores or libraries or the setting of a book. Sometimes, this can even be the highlight of the trip for me.

Aix-en-Provence - Bibliothèque Méjanes

Bibliothèque Méjanes in Aix-en-Provence in the South of France

What about you, what are bookish things that you find delightful? 🙂

24 thoughts on “Ten Bookworm Delights

    • First off, can I just say that I love the name of your blog? I’m a huge fan of tea as well. That’s awesome that your favorite cafe moved to a library! Makes it even a nicer place for you to hang out. My favorite bookstore here in Singapore used to have a cafe inside but it was gone when they renovated.

    • Oh yes, comments are always welcomed, no matter what form they come in. 🙂 I just wanted to highlight how nice it is to have a longer conversation that was sparked by a blog comment.

  1. These are definitely relatable! I always feel giddy when I find book-related places whether I’m on vacation or just hanging out with my family, though it bores them a lot most of the time while I jump up and down in excitement. xD

    I also love how I can always keep myself busy with books, and that I’ll never bebored. I hate having nothing to do so it’s very reassuring for me. 🙂

    Great post!

    • That’s why it’s always a good idea to travel with people who like the same type of things that you do, e.g. books. 😀 I think I’ve been lucky in that sense that when I want to check out a bookish place, the people I’m traveling with are willing to do the same.

      Life would be super boring without books, right? Now the problem we have is the opposite, we never have enough time to read all the books we want.

  2. So many good things! Though I’m so reliant on library books that I rarely buy books… I’m sadder about how rare it is for me to have hours of reading time. But a new happy things for me: my children are both finally at the reading stage where we can all put books in our book stands on the table and have a reading breakfast!

    • There aren’t any good public libraries in the Philippines so even though there are libraries here in Singapore, I guess I never got into the habit of getting most books from the library? I do have to pay a certain fee to become a member, only Singaporean citizens get to sign for free. I joined one year but still read more books from my own collection so I thought I should just spend that money on buying books. 🙂

      Congrats on reaching that stage where your kids can read with you! That sounds like a pretty awesome stage to be in.

    • Right? So much fun to check out bookish places while you’re on a trip. Also, I should have mentioned how fun it is to BUY books when you’re on vacation. Because then you end up with a souvenir you’d really enjoy.

  3. Never being bored during your spare time is one I wouldn’t have thought of but you are SO RIGHT. And I’d add, never being bored on public transportation as long as you’ve remembered to bring a book/ereader with you. I feel sad for other people on my bus, they always look so bored and I am always so happy.

    • I used to also read a lot during my commute! Back when I needed to travel 45mins to get to the office. But now my flat is nearer to the office so I usually just reply to messages while I’m on the train. So like everyone else, I’m glued to my phone. 😦 I might only be able to read a few paragraphs so I don’t even take my book or Kindle out. I read a lot while waiting in line for something or while waiting for a meal to be served.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

