V.E. Schwab Book Haul

I survived my first week at the new job! To reward myself, I went to the bookstore and bought two books from this shelf… can you guess which ones they are? πŸ™‚

Kinokuniya bookshelf - taken with Samsung S7

If you guessed A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab then you’re absolutely right! I keep hearing good things about both books from friends so I’ve been wanting to check them out. I know I keep saying I need to buy books in ebook format to save space, but the Kindle editions for these are still pretty pricey, and the UK paperback editions cost just a few more dollars so might as well get physical copies for the prettiness.

V.E. Schwab books

I hope I get to read these soon. Although I’ve heard that the second book ends on a cliffhanger. Maybe I should have waited for all three books to be released before getting the series? Oh well, too late now. πŸ˜›

As an aside, I finally switched from a Samsung S3 to an S7 Edge. The bookshelf pic above was the first one I posted on Instagram using the new phone. I got my old phone when I first moved to Singapore and had it for almost 4 years. I’m loving the upgrade, including having a way better phone camera. So expect nicer shots from me!

5 thoughts on “V.E. Schwab Book Haul

  1. Love those covers! Here I thought the US covers of those books were unmatchably beautiful, but those editions are terrific as well. I like-not-loved the first book in this series, and I have the second one out from the library now. Hoping to love this one! I have heard some raves and some pans of it, so I super don’t know what to expect!

    • I think the US covers look amazing! I would have loved to get them but they’re in hardcovers which are super expensive over here. So I went for the UK paperbacks instead. I only started paying attention to the hype surrounding these books after a few friends recommended them. They were actually our book club pick a few months ago but I wasn’t in the mood to read them. Keep me posted on what you think of the second one. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Comics and Chocolates Haul | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

