Chachic's Book Nook

Book Drive: #AReaderEveryDay in Manila

Leave a comment

bookbed and When In Manila currently have an ongoing book drive to benefit the Suit Elementary School in Dagupan City, Pangasinan through The Storytelling Project (TSP). TSP is a non-government organization that shares the same advocacy of spreading the habit of reading. They implement a three-phase program: 1) month-long storytelling sessions, 2) library project, and 3) reading club formation.

The school, which is now on Phase II, accepts children’s books, young adult books, reference books for kids and teens and activity books, provided they are in good condition. I believe they are accepting donations until the end of June.

Donations may be dropped off at the establishments listed below:

  • Z Hostel at 5660 Don Pedro Street, Makati City
  • The Learning Library at 2F, 41 Esteban Abada Street, Quezon City
  • Tweedle Book Cafe at 106B Sct. Gandia, Quezon City
  • Tambayan Capsule Hostel at 607 Bocobo Street, Malate, Manila
  • Diner on 16th at 16 United St. Brgy. Kapitolyo, Pasig (Behind Uncle Moe’s)

areadereveryday-in-manila

You can also visit posts from both bookbed and When In Manila. For more information and other inquiries about #AReaderEveryDay, please e-mail sky.wheninmanila@gmail.com or hello@bookbed.org with the campaign project “#AReaderEveryDay” as the subject.

I’m happy to report that I was able to share some of my own books to this book drive before flying back to Singapore. I was worried I wouldn’t have time to do it but I was able to squeeze it in at the last minute. I dropped by Tweedle Book Cafe on my way to the airport and left these books with them (about half for the cafe and half for the book drive):

May 2016 - books donated

If you’re in Manila, I hope you can pass on some of your used books to #AReaderEveryDay.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

