Reading at the hair salon

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’m currently on vacation in Manila. You’d think that because I’m on vacation, I’d have more time to blog. As always, I’m behind on posts! There are several things I want to blog about but I always feel like there aren’t enough hours in the day to squeeze in some blogging time. So I thought I’d come up with a short, book-related update.

Earlier today I was at the hair salon getting a hair cut and treatment. These are services that I usually try to do whenever I’m in Manila because they’re way too expensive in Singapore. In my almost four years of being based in Singapore, I’ve never gotten a hair cut or treatment there. Same goes for my Filipino girl friends in Singapore. Usually when I go to the salon, I’d just bring my Kindle with me and read whatever I’m currently in the middle of. Or I’d go through the magazines provided by the salon. But since I brought my copy of Amulet, Vol. 1: The Stonekeeper by Kazu Kibuishi all the way from Singapore, I thought I might as well bring it with me when I have a few hours to kill. What a great idea it was! This is such an engaging book and it’s super easy to get into. I was instantly absorbed and was able to read quite a huge chunk while I was waiting. It’s also easy to read in installments whenever I had to stop for them to rinse my hair. I will probably finish the book tonight and will try to look for copies of the sequels in local bookstores.

Amulet at the hair salon

The hair salon served coffee. Yay!

Note to self: bring more graphic novels with me whenever I have errands to run. What about you, what books do you usually bring with you when you know you’d have some time to kill?

11 thoughts on “Reading at the hair salon

  1. I usually have one book that I only read on my commute/errands. Usually they’re books outside of my comfort zone (like non-fiction or classic titles). Sometimes though I’ll bring a comic collection with me if I don’t think the commute will take too long.

    • I’ve tried reading non-fiction titles before but I really couldn’t get into them so I gave up! Also can’t remember the last time I read a classic novel. Graphic novels or comics are definitely good choices for commuting. πŸ™‚ It’s just that they can get bulky.

  2. Since I get around by riding the bus, I try to take light books when I’m out and about. If I’m heading to the library though, I’ll often re-read whatever I’m taking to return and then start a new book after picking up books from my hold shelf.

    • Sounds like you have a nice routine going on with your library commute. πŸ™‚ I use the train a lot when I’m in Singapore but I usually just bring my Kindle with me. Unless I know I’ll be hanging out at a cafe or something.

  3. Pingback: Ten Books I’d Bring If I Was Going to the Beach | Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: Graphic Novel Challenge: The Stonekeeper (Amulet #1) by Kazu Kibuishi | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. In truth I haven’t been able to get into graphic novels. Probably I just haven’t picked up good ones. I usually take something light and fluffy.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

