Chachic's Book Nook

In transition

21 Comments

I took an unexpected blogging hiatus the past few weeks. A month ago, I wrote about some huge changes that were happening in real life. I can’t believe it’s been a month! I apologize for the radio silence but a lot of things have happened since then. I got a job offer, accepted it, finished serving my notice period, had farewell lunches and dinners, took care of all the paperwork, booked a flight home and now here I am in Manila. That’s a lot of adulting in a span of just a few weeks. I was telling my previous co-workers that sometimes, it still amazes me that I’m able to handle adult stuff on my own. ๐Ÿ˜›

I’m spending a few weeks home until I start my new job in early June. Being home is always, always a good thing. But everything still feels so surreal, like I can’t believe I’ve really left the job I’ve had for almost four years and I’m starting a new one when I get back to Singapore. The new company has applied for my new work visa and I hope everything goes smoothly with that.

So, so, so. That’s just a quick update on real life stuff. I’m hoping I’d get more reading and blogging time while I’m on vacation. Although it’s also hard to find time because I’m busy running around to meet friends and family, and also to go shopping and buy things that are either cheaper here or not available in Singapore. I check and update Instagram and Twitter regularly so if you have accounts on those sites, we can always interact there. ๐Ÿ™‚ And as always, if you come across books that you think I’d enjoy reading, feel free to recommend them!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /หˆtสƒษ‘หtสƒษชk/ is pronounced with hard โ€œchโ€ sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

21 thoughts on “In transition

  1. Yay for successful adulting, says I ^^. Best of success at your new job.

    I’ve gotten into the Steerswoman series by Rosemary Kirstein and it’s good but deep stuff – Megan Whalen Turner or Elizabeth Wein in fantasy mode come to mind – although as the story turns, it becomes clear it is science fiction.
    Haven’t finished the third one yet, as it took a turn of events that is really heavy, and I’m not in the mood for that right now, but I can see that the books are so worth the emotional upheaval. I hear that she’s going to write a fifth and sixth one, but so far the 1st and 2nd were well wrapped up, so no feels of cliffhanger.

    • Whew, adulting can be so tiring! I hope I don’t have to do too much of it in the coming weeks.

      Wow, you mentioned both MWT and EWein… that’s really high praise. Looks like I definitely need to read these books. I looked it up and good to know that there’s a Kindle edition, and it isn’t too expensive either. I’ll probably try a sample of the first book to see if it’s something that might appeal to me. Thanks for the rec. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I had them recommended for years, and she now has her rights back and released them via Smashwords to the usual suspects. She’s also retired now and says she’ll keep writing them. Hope you enjoy them, the first one is actually the most fantasy-like adventure, and with the new stuff the protagonist finds out she just goes ever more down the rabbit hole…

      • Oh that’s good that she was able to get the rights back! It’s a lot more convenient for new readers to get access to her books now that they’re available in ebook format. I think I’ve already downloaded the sample. I’ll let you know when I’ve had time to read it!

  2. Glad to see that you’re back and to hear that life has moved in a positive direction. Enjoy your time with family, and best wishes when you start the new job.

    • Thank you for the well wishes, Kareni! It’s good to be back on the blog. It’s also a huge relief to have some clarity on what my next step is. The unknown can bring so much anxiety.

  3. Congratulations on your new job! I’ve added you on Instagram because I couldn’t resist once I saw all your photos of graphic novels ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you! And thank you for following me on Instagram too. ๐Ÿ˜€ What are some of your favorite graphic novels? I have a stash of them that I keep meaning to read and review, just need to find time!

  4. I could have sworn I posted a reply to your post, but I don’t see it so… Welcome back! And congratulations on the new job. It’s not easy to break out of a rut job-wise, kudos to you for recognizing the rut and doing something about it. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

    • Thank you, Janet! Yeah, sometimes it’s really easier to just stick with the status quo even if you recognize that you’re no longer happy where you are. It took me a while to decide to do something about my situation and I’m glad I was able to do it. I’m feeling hopeful about the new job so let’s see. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Congrats on the new job! And I’m glad you get a trip home first.

    • I would have insisted on it! Even if it was just a few days off. I know I won’t be able to take a break for a few months after starting a new job because I would need to focus.

  6. Pingback: Reading at the hair salon | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: #romanceclass Meet Up at Books and Borders | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Congratulations on the new job, Chachic! ๐Ÿ™‚ And yay for taking a load off in Manila. I miss being able to travel home for trips!

    • Thank you, Alexa! I’m really, really glad I was able to take a few weeks off to go home. It’s always nice to spend time in the Philippines. Hope you’re able to do it soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Pingback: V.E. Schwab Book Haul | Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Sense of Belonging | Chachic's Book Nook

  11. Hi, Chachic, Iโ€™ve been on a long hiatus, so Iโ€™m awfully long to read this post. I hope you settled in Manila by now, and canโ€™t wait to read you latest life updates to find out what are you up to. I followed you on Twitter, though Iโ€™m not very active there.

    • Hi Ksenia, this blog post was several months ago and I have started my new job in Singapore since then. Work has been keeping me SUPER busy which is why I haven’t been blogging as much as I want to. I followed you back on Twitter. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m pretty active there, on Instagram and Litsy as well.

  12. Pingback: Best of 2016 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

