Chachic's Book Nook

Real life update

27 Comments

Things have been pretty quiet here on the blog because I’ve made some big decisions over the past week. While I usually only mention real life stuff in passing over here, my blog does get effected by major changes. The big announcement is that I’ve resigned from my current job. I like to keep my blogging and my professional life separate so I still won’t go into details about my job here. But I’ve had the same job for a little over three and a half years, ever since I moved to Singapore in August 2012. This is not a sudden decision on my part, it has taken me months and endless conversations with family and friends to get to this point. I’ve thought about it long and hard, weighed the pros and cons and everything. It’s not even an entirely happy decision because there’s more than a little bit of sadness mixed in. But I think it’s a good decision, and will hopefully lead to good things for me. The main reason why I chose to go is that I’m no longer happy where I was, for various reasons. I didn’t want to let inertia settle in and just keep doing the same thing because I was comfortable. I’ve decided that I’m ready for a fresh start!

I will be staying in Singapore until I finish serving my notice period, and I can stay another month as a tourist after that. I’ve already started the job hunt here in Singapore, but haven’t found anything yet. I’ve been having a few conversations but nothing concrete has materialized. If I can’t find anything here then I’m fine with going back home to Manila. I can take a bit of a break before starting the job hunt over there. I’m waiting to see how things will unfold, and of course, I’ll share any major announcements if there are any!

Interestingly, I had a job interview this week and I mentioned my blog when asked about what I like to do during my free time. I don’t think I’ve ever done that in an interview before because like I said earlier, I tend to keep my professional life separate from my blog. Maybe I’d say I’m passionate about reading and I enjoy having discussions about books, but I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned having a blog. That I post book reviews, participate in online events and reach out to authors and fellow readers all over the world. I decided to bring it up because a good friend said that it’s a great idea to talk about my interests and the things that I do outside of work because those activities also show that I have drive outside of the workplace. Because I’m not being paid to do all these things and yet I put in so much effort because I enjoy doing it. So I should keep doing that in future interviews.

The past week has been very tiring so I’m just trying to have a quiet weekend to recharge. Just catch up on chores and read something good. I’m also hoping I can squeeze in a review but let’s just see how it goes. Hope you’re all having a good weekend so far!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

27 thoughts on “Real life update

  1. Good luck in your job search!!

  2. Hugs to you Chachic! You are a brave woman and I’m sure the right thing will come your way! Best of luck to you.

  3. Good luck with the job hunt!

  4. Decisions are always hard, but I’m sure you’ve made a good one. I hope everything goes really well for you!

  5. I hope the job hunt goes well for you. Kudos to you for realizing you weren’t satisfied with the status quo and deciding to do something about it!

    • There have been points in my life when I have chosen to stay with the status quo and not rock the boat but there really are certain situations where you just have to go for the plunge!

  6. *hugs* Change is hard sometimes but it’ll lead to better things, I’m sure. I wish you a lot of luck on your job search! 2016 is turning out to be quite the transformative year for many people 🙂

    • Thank you, Sandy! Absolutely agree, change is never an easy thing. I’m hoping that it will be a good thing though. 🙂 Let’s wait and see how the rest of 2016 will unfold.

  7. Best of luck! Life has to happen, everyone needs a break sometime.

    • Thank you, Rosie! Not sure if I’ll be able to take a break (depends on whether I’ll find something right away or not) but let’s see how things go.

  8. Best of luck and success and relaxation ^^ – from my point of view of having stuck to the wrong job too long to get a well paying different one, you are making the right decision.

    • Aww Estara, thanks for sharing that. It does help to hear about what other people have learned from their own experiences. While it hasn’t been easy, my experience has helped me gain a healthy dose of personal growth.

  9. Well, good luck with the job hunt! I’m glad you’ve made the right choice for you in leaving your current job, and I’m keeping fingers crossed that your next endeavor is the exactly right thing for you!

    • Thank you so much, Jenny! I really think this is the right choice for me, and while I’m not exactly having doubts, I’m still nervous about what the future will hold. Because I have no idea what will happen. I’m trying to be as positive as I can though!

  10. Best wishes as you make these life changes. I wish you well.

  11. I hope that whatever happens would be good for you, Chachic. I wish you all the best.

  12. Those are exhausting decisions. I hope you do find time to rest and recuperate and wish you best of luck job-hunting!

    • Angie, seriously exhausting! I don’t even feel like I’ve recovered from last week’s events, because I had other things going on (like interviews) aside from the resignation.

  13. Good luck on the job hunt, Chachic! Will be keeping you in my prayers ❤

  14. Pingback: In transition | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

