Ten Contemporary Romance Books I’ve Recently Enjoyed

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Today is a special Tuesday because it’s MY BIRTHDAY. Woohoo! *throws confetti* *shares cake with everyone* And because I’m such a book nerd, talking about books on my birthday is always a good idea. This week’s TTT topic is supposed to be 5 star reads, but I rarely give a 5 star rating so I thought I’d share books that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed since the beginning of the year. I’m going to go for a contemporary romance theme on this post, because I’m always up for a good romance. They’re so easy to get into and I can usually finish a book in one sitting. Writing a review is a different matter, however. Which is why I want to take this opportunity to highlight some of the titles I’ve really liked.

Summer Skin Act Like It Artistic License Pairing Off Us

His Road Home Night Wish MidnightClear Carolina Dreaming Soppy by Philippa Rice

Have you read any of these titles? If yes, what did you think of them? If you read contemporary romance, I would love to get some good recommendations! If you’re not into this genre, please feel free to talk about books that you’ve recently loved because I’d be interested in hearing them. I have pretty eclectic tastes when it comes to the books I read and I can never predict what I’ll be in the mood for.

And now I’m off to enjoy the day! I took time off from work and my goals are simple: have some good food and read a great book.

23 thoughts on “Ten Contemporary Romance Books I’ve Recently Enjoyed

  1. Happy birthday – hope you have a great day!

    I really want to read SUMMER SKIN. Also love Lucy Parker’s writing, am halfway through ARTISTIC LICENSE.

    Can’t remember – have you read Kylie Scott? I really enjoyed her contemp romance series. She has a new (spin-off possibly?) series starting soon, it’s on my to-buy list!

    Li

    • Thank you, Li! πŸ™‚

      I hope you do get to read Summer Skin. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it will get an international publisher. Lucy Parker is pretty awesome, isn’t she? I’m so glad she has two more titles that will be companion novels to Act Like It.

      I haven’t read any of Kylie Scott’s books. If she’s an auto-buy author for you, I should definitely check her out. Which one should I start with?

      • Hmm interesting! Thanks for the warning. I’m thinking about starting with the second book because of what you said. One of my reader friends on Twitter mentioned that the third book is her favorite.

  2. Happy birthday, my friend! Hope it’s exactly what you want it to be.

    You know I love several of these. They really are just the right thing. I’m still recovering from a serious book hangover after reading Roan Parrish’s In the Middle of Somewhere and Out of Nowhere. Contemporary m/m that I think you’d really dig. I’m just wandering around sad I can’t be with them still and hoping she writes another one soon.

    • Thank you, Angie! πŸ™‚ Any book that gives you a book hangover is something that I need to read. I one clicked In the Middle of Somewhere because I saw that it was just 0.99usd at the moment. I keep meaning to read more M/M so this is an excellent recommendation.

  3. I still need to read Act Like It-I’m so behind on everything!!!! I’ve heard good things about Pairing Off from other places too so clearly I also need to try that one.

    I’m so glad you enjoyed A Midnight Clear! (I’m really looking forward to the next book in that series.)

    • I also feel like I’m behind on everything!!! I haven’t even been able to review most of the titles in this list because I’m so behind. Speaking of, I still haven’t read the rest of the books in the series that A Midnight Clear is part of. I should pick them up the next time I want to read romance.

    • Thaaaanks! Hope you pick up one of these titles when you feel like reading romance. I know you’ve been enjoying MM romances recently so I’ll keep my eye out for you (side note: Angie has recommendations in a comment above that you might want to check out).

  4. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I hope today will be fabulous for you and filled with cookies and cakes and anything and everything you fancy. ❀

    I actually haven’t read anything on your list or even heard about themβ€”I’ve been on a YA binge for the last couple of months, but this seems like a really good list to start reading contemporary romance again!

    • Thank you! πŸ˜€ Hope you enjoy reading some of the titles on this list. Summer Skin is actually new adult (although I think it’s being marketed as OzYA) but it’s still a romance so I wanted to include it in my list.

    • Wow, six out of ten! That’s a pretty good number. πŸ™‚ I hope you enjoy reading the four that you haven’t picked up yet. And thanks for the greeting.

  5. Happy belated Birthday, Chachic! First five books from your list are on my tbr-list, I’ll check out others. Thanks for recs! My latest 5 Stars read is Shattered Glass by Dani Alexander (mm-romance with humor and all the feels).

    • Thank you, Ksenia! I hope you get to read those five books soon. πŸ˜› I just looked up Shattered Glass on Goodreads and it looks interesting. I added it to my wishlist. Thanks for the rec. πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Belated Birthday Book Haul | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

