Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate

17 Comments

Blog comments are like chocolate! Which is saying a lot given how much I love chocolate (dark chocolate in particular). I’ve had blog discussions about comments before, but I realized that my posts were in 2011 and 2012 so I thought it would be a good idea to revisit the topic again. I think it’s always fun to receive comments because hey, it’s a form of validation… someone is reading my post and is interested enough to say something about it! 🙂 I think commenting is great in the way that it encourages discussions and conversations with people who read the same kind of books that I do. And for me, that’s what makes blogging interesting. This is why I always reply to the comments that people make in my posts.

Comments are like chocolate

Or like potato chips covered in dark chocolate

Over the years, I’ve noticed that people’s commenting habits have changed. I don’t have any stats to prove it but I feel like I used to receive more comments in the earlier years of my blog. Now that could be due to a number of reasons like some of my blogging buddies going on hiatus. But I also cross-link my posts on Facebook and Twitter, and I’ve noticed that some people are more comfortable leaving a Facebook comment or a tweet rather than writing down a comment on an actual blog post. Totally understandable because it’s easier to do that, especially when you’re on your phone. I also do the same thing when I’m going through other people’s posts while I’m on the go. It also makes it easier for me to reply to someone when they do that, it’s just that it’s more difficult to keep track of the discussion when it isn’t being saved on the blog.

I know that some people tend to prefer to lurk, instead of writing comments. This is also something that I could relate to since I was a lurker before I started my own blog. There are also instances when you’ve read the post but you don’t feel like you have anything substantial to add so you skip leaving a comment. That happens to me too. But I hope visitors and followers of my blog feel like they can comment anytime, even with something random like just saying hi. 🙂

I also used to comment on other blogs a lot more. Back when I used Google Reader to keep track of blogs that I follow. Nowadays, I usually just leave comments when I have some time to check out the blogs I’m interested in, or to visit other blogs participating in a meme. If you ever come across a blog post that you think I’d be interested in, feel free to share a link so I can check it out.

I’m basically thinking out loud here, and sharing some of my thoughts about blog comments. What do you think about comments? Do you also enjoy receiving and replying to them?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

17 thoughts on “Comments are like chocolate

  1. I do…. I eel like my thoughts matter to some people.

  2. Comments are the bread crumbs that nourish blogger’s souls! When I was still blogging, I would love it when people stopped by and left me comments. It’s a small gesture but it goes a long way and it’s nice because it’s an immediate ability to engage with someone. I remember when blogger didn’t have the threaded commenting system that wordpress has and how I installed I.D. just so I had the ability to reply to people. Oh, the good ole days! ❤

    Now that I've stepped back from blogging, I find myself reverting back into a lurker lol. But I think the decline of commenting has a lot to do with how social media is becoming more passive: look at youtube or tumblr or instagram. Why leave comments when you can like, reblog, etc.? And like you mentioned, a lot of people are accessing the internet via mobiles or tablets. I don't have a tablet myself but I do browse on my phone and commenting on ANY website or blog is annoying to do on a phone x.x

    • I love the commenting system that WordPress has! I think that was one of the reasons why I signed up for WordPress instead of Blogger when I first started, and also because I liked how nice and clean their themes looked. I also like how much easier it is to comment on other WordPress blogs, and to get notifications when the blogger replies. I know self-hosted blogs and other platforms have the option of being sent an email when someone replies, but WordPress just makes thinks simpler.

      Agree with what you said about the connection between the decline of commenting and social media. Even WordPress has a like button, which some people click instead of leaving a comment. I do get it because I’m on my phone a lot too. Sometimes I don’t even feel like opening a computer after spending the whole work day in front of my office desktop. If I ever give up my blog, I think I’ll be fine with just having Instagram and Twitter to keep in touch with bookish people. 🙂

  3. I’m all for chocolate! And if comments are like chocolate to you, I can understand how important they are. If I were to host a blog, I suspect I’d love to receive comments (well, thoughtful ones as opposed to spam).

    • Chocolate is always a good idea, isn’t it? 🙂 Thoughtful comments are the best, especially the type of comments that can lead to a discussion or a conversation.

  4. Sending you a virtual Easter Egg right now! Cheers

  5. I definitely think there has been a down-tick in comments from the olden days. Maybe just a function of — actually, I have no explanation to offer. In my case, I know it’s at least partly that I have less time to spend commenting etc., because I am no longer a receptionist, a job I used to have that afforded me many hours in which to do whatever I wanted on the internet. :p But I try to still be good(ish) about it, because I love my blogging friends and I do read and enjoy their posts and I want them to know that.

    • For me too, I spend less time commenting nowadays compared to before! Oh sometimes I think I’d make a great receptionist because I can be warm and friendly, and I think it would be great to have so much free time. But then again, I’d probably be bored out of my mind. 😛

  6. you said you always reply to a comment. Also to one like this? 🙂 😀

  7. I love this post, Chachic. You articulated so well exactly what I think on this topic. It looks like that people became passive eaters of information, and not only in book community. We all bombarded with so much information every day, that resources that are easier to accept become more popular (youtubr, instagram). Also I guess most of non-bloggers prefer to lurk. I remember when I wasn’t a blogger it was somewhat intimidating to comment on blogs, so I followed a bunch of blogs, but didn’t comment at all.

    • Glad you could relate to this, Ksenia! I was also a lurker before I started my blog so I know how it feels to just want to lurk and not comment on anything. And I agree with what you said about how we’re bombarded with so much information nowadays so it’s much more difficult to make the extra effort to respond to a blog post with a comment. Much easier to like a Facebook update or an Instagram pic.

  8. Comments are a wonderful confirmation that what I write is of interest to someone else, which is super, but they matter less to me than in the past when I have penned other blogs. At this point, I write primarily for myself. That being said, it is still nice to know that there are a few like minded folks out there.

    • Yes, I get what you mean! Sometimes I feel like I’m writing more for myself, to keep track of the books that I’ve read or acquired, but it’s still nice to get a response to whatever I write.

  9. Pingback: Sense of Belonging | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

