Chachic's Book Nook

2016 International Women’s Day

5 Comments

Happy International Women’s Day! 🙂 In honor of this day, I would like to share books that I’ve loved that feature some of my favorite fictional ladies. I liked these characters because I feel like they’ve shown their strengths in various ways. Also, these books are written by women. I came up with a list like this way back in 2012, and I know I should have made it a yearly thing but I kept forgetting. I’m glad I remembered to do it today! Since the last time I did this was in 2012, I’m going to include books that I’ve read starting from 2013.

Speculative fiction:
Uprooted Bone Gap Archivist Wasp Black Dog Pure Magic Tempting Danger

Touchstone Trilogy Medair Burn for Me Rat Queens Vol 1 Sass and Sorcery Nimona

Adult Contemporary:
Girl Before a Mirror Nowhere But Home The Chocolate Temptation A Wish Upon Jasmine The Story Guy Big Boy

YA Contemporary
I'll Meet You There Wildlife All I Ever Wanted

What about you, who are some of your favorite fictional female characters? 🙂

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

5 thoughts on “2016 International Women’s Day

  1. I just finished reading Uprooted, and I really liked Agnieszka. Bonus nalang yung kalapit ng pangalan ko 🙂 I’ve been revisiting Lois Lowry’s Anastasia Krupnik series, if she counts.

    • Glad you also enjoyed reading Uprooted! That’s one of my favorite reads last year. 🙂 Hope you’re enjoying your reread of that Lois Lowry series, I haven’t read that yet.

  2. Great idea for a post! Hmm… favorite female fictional characters. But there’s so many 🙂 Off the top of my head, I love Jo March, Jane Eyre, Anne Shirley, Elizabeth Bennett. Funny how they’re all from classics…

  3. Pingback: 2017 International Women’s Day | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

