Chachic's Book Nook

Graphic Novel / Manga Challenge: The Wicked + The Divine

8 Comments

graphicnovelmangachallenge by espressodream

Image designed by my friend Kim of Dreaming of Espresso. Thanks for letting me use it!

The only book challenge that I signed up for this year is the 2016 Graphic Novel / Manga Challenge, and I went for the Modern Age level. This means I need to read and review at least one graphic novel per month. On the reading part, that’s definitely not too difficult to accomplish! The reviewing part is more difficult. I received Vol. 1 of The Wicked + The Divine by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie (Illustrations), Matt Wilson (Colorist), Clayton Cowles last Christmas and I bought the next two installments right after. I read all three volumes together so I’m consolidating mini reviews of them in this post.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:
Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead. The team behind critical tongue-attractors like Young Avengers and PHONOGRAM reunite to create a world where gods are the ultimate pop stars and pop stars are the ultimate gods. But remember: just because you’re immortal, doesn’t mean you’re going to live forever.

The Wicked + The Divine - The Faust Act The Wicked + The Divine - Fandemonium The Wicked + The Divine - Commercial Suicide

Vol. 1: The Faust Act – So many people were gushing about WicDiv and it kept being mentioned whenever I asked for graphic novel recommendations. I was excited to get started on Vol. 1 because I thought the concept for the series was brilliant. I was intrigued when I read the premise, and immediately wanted to find out more about these young men and women who turned into gods, and manifested their powers by performing concerts. They thrived on these performances, and the audience loved them. Kind of similar to how much influence rock stars and pop stars have in the real world, just a little bit more intense. I thought the artwork was gorgeous and reminded me a bit of Jem and the Holograms, one of my favorite animated shows when I was younger. Vol. 1 served as a quick introduction to the series, showing readers a wide range of characters. I enjoyed reading it but I was mostly confused by the time I reached the end. I felt like I couldn’t get a clear grasp of the storyline. Good thing I already had a copy of Vol. 2 with me so I could dive right in.

Vol. 2: Fandemonium – Vol. 2 continues with the story that Vol. 1 started and introduced a few more of the gods. I went through Vol. 2 pretty quickly because I wanted to understand what was going on. And yes, I did get some of the answers that I wanted but even more questions were raised. Just when I thought I would finally see everything come together, BAM! Something else happens that I can’t figure out. I know I’m being very vague here but I don’t want to accidentally mention any spoilers. Similar to how I felt when I finished Vol. 1, I wanted the next installment ASAP. I was lucky I started reading these just as Vol. 3 was released.

Vol. 3: Commercial Suicide – I was so glad Vol. 3 was readily available in Kinokuniya Singapore. I didn’t have to wait too long to find out what happens next. Going into Vol. 3, I had no clue that the illustrations would be different from the earlier two installments. Each chapter was illustrated by a different artist. While the idea may seem appealing to other readers, I really liked the original artwork and wanted the story to continue in that way. I found the abrupt changes jarring. On top of that, I still felt mostly confused even if I was already in the third book in the series. Sadly, it was a disappointing read for me. I just wasn’t invested enough in the story or the characters.

After reading three volumes, my conclusion is that WicDiv isn’t a series for me. There’s too much violence, too many questions, and not enough answers. I wouldn’t have minded the violence if I loved the story, but sadly, that wasn’t the case here. As always, I’m glad I tried something new. But I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed that I would have a better experience with my March graphic novel read.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

8 thoughts on “Graphic Novel / Manga Challenge: The Wicked + The Divine

  1. You’re welcome about the graphic! Thanks for wanting to use it 😀 I was interested in reading WicDiv…but I’ve also read a few reviews stating the same issue you have above. I don’t think I will be picking it up despite the artwork, it just all sounds too frustrating to read. I might pick it up at a later date when there’s not so much on my TBR….but I doubt that would happen any time soon.

    • It’s a cute graphic! I’ll probably keep using it for my other posts for this challenge. 😛 I was really intrigued by WicDiv and was still hopeful after reading Vol. 1 and Vol. 2, but reaching Vol. 3 made me realize that it’s really not a series for me. I’m giving up on it like I did with Saga. I’m sure I can find another series that I would enjoy a lot more.

      • I was also intrigued by it…since I love stories about gods and the likes, but I kept seeing the same types of review popping up. I’m just not gonna waste time on it LOL There are many more books in the sea 😉

      • Yeah, it really has such an interesting concept. Oh well, at least I gave it a try! I just need to pick a good one from my graphic novel TBR pile for March. 😀

  2. You are far from the first person I’ve seen have this complaint with WicDiv. The way I feel is that I’m willing to follow the creators on a questionsy journey, as long as, somewhere down the line, they have a plan for a satisfying resolution. I don’t want to spend the next however-long with this story if it’s going to end up like Lost. :p

    • It makes me feel better that I’m not the only one who felt this way about the series! I really wanted to like it and I’m sad that I didn’t love it as much as I expected. It was frustrating to keep waiting for things to be resolved.

  3. Pingback: Graphic Novel / Manga Challenge: Giant Days | Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: Graphic Novel Challenge: Monstress, Vol. 1 by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

