Chachic's Book Nook

BBAW: Keeping It Fresh

14 Comments

BBAW 2016 - Blogger Burnout

Today’s the last day of Book Blogger Appreciation Week (BBAW) and the prompt is how do bloggers keep things fresh to avoid blogger burnout. This is going to sound totally random but my favorite lip balm brand is Fresh and I just stopped by that store earlier today. And now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, back to the topic that I should be discussing. I think blogger burnout and reading slumps are pretty common, there’s really no way to predict when or how they will happen. I’ve been blogging since 2010 and over the years, I’ve seen how the book blogging community has changed. So many of the blogging buddies, who were newbies with me, have given up on their blogs because other priorities have popped up. Even WordPress has changed its features and layouts during the time I’ve been a blogger. While I’ve never seriously considered giving this up, there have been times when I felt kind of meh about my blog. So what do I do to avoid that? It’s real simple, I read and blog without any kind of pressure. I pick up books based on my mood, and I blog whenever I feel like it. I don’t force myself to read something that I don’t want to, and I definitely don’t put pressure on myself to write a post when I don’t feel like doing so. I read and blog because it’s fun for me. And I hope it keeps being fun for a long time.

I’ve said this before and I will probably keep saying it until I stop blogging: my blog is my happy place. Going back through old posts, I noticed that some of the things I said in one of my BBAW 2012 posts are still applicable today. So I’m going to end this post by reiterating what I said before. I shared a quote about reading and explained why I chose it:

“You think your pain and your heartbreak are unprecedented in the history of the world, but then you read. It was books that taught me that the things that tormented me most were the very things that connected me with all the people who were alive, or who had ever been alive.” ― James Baldwin

I love this quote because it talks about reading opening up your eyes and making you realize that you’re not alone – the same can be said for blogging. It was blogging that taught me that the things that I loved the most were the very things that connected me with readers all over the world. I feel like my blog keeps me grounded because I get to focus on something that I love. It helps me unwind at the end of the day. I have a feeling that I’ll be a lot more homesick and more than a little lonely if I didn’t have my blog.

What about you, how do you keep yourself motivated to blog?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

14 thoughts on “BBAW: Keeping It Fresh

  1. Wanting to connect with my blogging buddies is what keeps me going! When I’ve read a book that I’m excited about, I can’t wait to tell my blogging friends about it, or talk to them about what they liked/disliked about it.

    • Same! One of the reasons I blog is to discuss the books that I’ve read with friends. I can’t wait to gush and recommend books that I love, and same concept applies when I want to rant about something that frustrated me. Before book blogging, reading seemed like a lonely hobby. I’m glad that’s not the case anymore! 🙂

  2. I definitely approach blogging with a similar attitude! I really try not to force myself into writing a post just because I have to (and I really don’t ever do this, which is lovely). I also just take periodic breaks from time to time – to read, to do other things that aren’t reading. I really think that you have to strike a fine balance between all the things you love doing, just so you’ll never really tire of any of them!

    • I agree that it’s a good idea to take a break. When you’re in a slump, just step back and try to do other interesting things that aren’t related to reading and blogging. The balance that you mentioned is really necessary to keep blogging fun and fresh. We don’t want to get tired of something we love doing!

  3. I love the idea that your blog is your happy place. And I am with you on keeping the pressure on yourself low. I let my self-expectations get the better of me for awhile there.

    • I really try to maintain it as my happy place! I definitely want to keep things fun. I hope you’re able to manage your expectations about your blog so you don’t have to pressure yourself.

  4. I agree that book blogging is great because it makes us feel less alone. When we wonder why everyone on earth isn’t raving about that one book, it shows us that lots of people are excited about it!

    • Exactly! It’s always good to know that you’re not alone in how you feel about a book. Actually, even if your opinion isn’t the same as everyone else’s, it’s still fun to discuss the book.

  5. I’m with you. I read and blog what I like to keep me motivated. I also go through some blogging slumps though when real life makes blogging hard to do.

  6. Love the Baldwin quote! Also, great comment about blogging whenever you want to, because you want to. I’m afraid I’m not quite there yet – with a lot of things. I have fun while doing the task, of course, but what gets me to do it, unfortunately, is the motivation to strike it off the to-do list 😉

  7. Your blog should definitely be your happy place! I love that.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

