BBAW: Staying Connected

BBAW 2016 - CommunityConnection

I didn’t even realize that Book Blogger Appreciation Week (BBAW) got a reboot and is being hosted over at The Estella Society. I’ve joined BBAW in previous years and would have prepared more posts if I found out about it sooner. I’m glad that I found out about it just in time to join today’s prompt: how to stay connected in the book blogging world. Making and maintaining connections is probably the main reason why I blog. I love being part of the bookish community. I love being able to talk about an aspect of my life that my friends in real life and family don’t really understand. I have been blogging since 2010 (yeah, even I’m surprised at how long it’s been), and I’ve used various methods to stay connected with people over the years. Currently, I stay connected through these:

Blog events – This is the first thing that came to mind because hey, I’m writing this post as part of BBAW. Other blog events that I’ve joined are ArmchairBEA, Bloggiesta and online activities hosted by Filipino ReaderCon. I have also organized my own blog events such as The Queen’s Thief Week, Marchetta Madness, EWein Special Ops and Amour et Florand. I would love to organize more blog events but I haven’t been able to do so because real life has been getting in the way.

Meet-ups – I don’t get to do face to face meet-ups as often as I’d like since I moved to Singapore so I think it’s always great whenever I get a chance to meet an online bookish friend in person. I get so jealous of all the bookish events and meet-ups that are held in Manila, if I was still based there, I would definitely show up.

Memes – Nowadays, the only meme I actively join is Top Ten Tuesday. I like TTT because there’s a new topic every week and it also lets me discover new-to-me blogs.

Twitter – I’m on Twitter as @chachic_ because “chachic” is taken. I joined Twitter the year I started blogging, and I didn’t even have a smartphone back then. I thought it was awesome because it let me interact with authors. My day was made whenever an author replied to one of my tweets (actually I still feel that way until now). Also, it’s easier to keep in touch with fellow bloggers on Twitter because I can just check it whenever I have time like every morning while on the train to work. And it’s easy to send a tweet whenever I have a random thought or question that I want to share. Oh and I find out about book bargains on Twitter too, like when Kindle editions go on sale for just USD0.99 or they’re free for a limited time.

Goodreads – I keep my Goodreads profile updated because it helps me keep track of the books that I read and the ones on my wishlist. I always check my Goodreads shelves whenever I need to make a list or an update for the blog.

Instagram – I’m on Instagram as chachickenpie. It’s probably my second favorite social networking site after Twitter. It’s just a lot of fun for me to take pictures and to browse through my friends’ posts. While my Instagram posts are mostly book-related (and tagged with #bookstagram or #instabooks), I also share random pictures of my day-to-day life here in Singapore.

Facebook – I’m not as big of a fan of Facebook but I do have a Facebook page for the blog, where I share links of my blog posts. My book club, YAckers also uses Facebook to have discussions. I’m a member of some bookish Facebook groups but I’m mostly a lurker in those.

Messaging apps like Whatsapp / Viber – Aside from email, I keep in touch with friends through Whatsapp or Viber. I think these apps are more common in the Philippines and Singapore than abroad? They’re basically like texting. I use these apps to keep in touch with some of my bookish buddies who have given up blogging.

Commenting on other blogs – Leaving comments on other people’s blogs used to be the best way to have discussions but nowadays, more and more people are replying on Twitter or Facebook instead. I guess it’s easier for them to leave comments as they click on links shared. I try to reply to all comments that I receive in all platforms, be it WordPress, Twitter, Instagram or Facebook. I feel like it’s a way to show my appreciation for the comments that I get. LOL I also don’t get that many comments so it’s not a difficult for me to reply to all of them.

Those are the various ways I stay in touch with the book blogging community. Do we share similar ways of communicating? How do you stay in touch with the community?

8 thoughts on “BBAW: Staying Connected

  1. Okay, how do you love Megan Whalen Turner, Melina Marchetta, and Elizabeth Wein, and yet we are NOT blog friends? I love all those authors! (Where IS Melina Marchetta btw? I feel like it’s been a while since she put out a new book, and I miss her.)

    • How have we not met before this BBAW?! Okay, fun fact: did you know that MWT has read and loved Melina’s books, and vice versa? πŸ™‚ And we know both MWT and EWein are fans of each other’s books too. I think Melina took a break from writing but I know she’s working on an upcoming adult novel. If you miss her writing, I recommend checking out other Aussie YA authors. There are so many of them who write amazing books.

  2. I like commenting best and agree that it’s a good way to form the connections. But it does take time – probably more time than other things. We just have to decide which works best for us and go with that. πŸ™‚

  3. We definitely keep in touch with the community in the same ways! I’m primarily focused on commenting on posts, tweeting, sharing and sharing photos on Instagram, though I also really enjoy getting to meet up face to face with some of my favorite bookish people. I think what’s really important in the end is that you’re willing to put in the effort to reach out, form connections and keep relationships strong!

    • I love meeting bookish friends face to face! It’s just that I don’t get to do it as often as I would like, there aren’t that many friends that pass by Singapore. So I have to content myself with online means to stay connected with the community. πŸ™‚ I agree, what really matters is making the effort. These connections don’t happen unless you’re willing to do that.

    • I was also late to BBAW this year! But good thing I found out about it before it ended. Thank you so much for dropping by to say hi, in the interest of staying connected. πŸ˜€

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

