Top Ten Couples from Non-Romance Books

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is a Valentine’s Day freebie. I’m a huge fan of romance novels and tend to read a lot of contemporary romance, both YA and adult. But I also enjoy hopping from on genre to another and I’ve come across love stories that I’ve loved in non-romance books. The romance isn’t the focus in these books but they’re done so well and I loved reading about the couples getting together. Here are some of my favorite non-romance novels that feature fictional couples I love:

QueenOfAttolia Crown Duel2 Blue Sword Fire Howl's Moving Castle

Son of the Shadows Magic Bites new cover Archangel Touchstone Trilogy Scorpio Races UK

Most of these books aren’t recent reads for me but I wanted to highlight them for this topic. On Valentine’s Day itself, I will be posting my usual favorite literary couples from books I read within the past year. Do we share any favorite fictional couples? If not, would you care to share who are your favorites?

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Couples from Non-Romance Books

  1. I’m with you on Sophie and Howl, Kate and Curran, and Puck and Sean. And if that’s Gen and Irene for Attolia, I’m on board too!

    • At this point, I would only be surprised if you didn’t agree with any of my picks. πŸ˜›

      PS: I just remembered the YA Fantasy Showdown between Gen and Howl with cameos from Irene and Sophie.

  2. I’m reading the Blue Sword to my son right now! Such a good book! And I love Gen and Irene, Sophie and Howl, Puck and Sean also. Hmm… I’ve been reading lots of middle grade lately, but maybe Ista and Illvan from Lois McMaster Bujold’s Paladin of Souls?

    • Oh wow, I hope your son is enjoying The Blue Sword so far! One of my favorite YA fantasy books. πŸ˜€ Maybe you can read The Thief, Howl’s Moving Castle and The Scorpio Races to him next? Since you also loved the couples in those.

      I haven’t read Paladin of Souls yet… I think I have a copy of The Curse of Chalion back home in Manila. Maybe I should try to unearth it on my next visit.

      • He is enjoying it! And we read The Hero and the Crown first. I was actually thinking of doing Howl’s Moving Castle next, and he’d probably enjoy the Thief, too. He’s only 11, so I think I’d wait a bit for Scorpio Races…

  3. Saw your topic, thought “oh, I can think of a few right off the top of my head,” scrolled down to see your first five book covers and thought, “Yup, she nailed it! Exactly my picks!”

    Which definitely makes me curious about the ones I haven’t read . . . I haven’t tried Ilona Andrews yet; maybe I should.

    • Kim, your comment makes me so happy! It’s always nice to know when you find another reader who loves the same couples (and books) that you do. I will be keeping my fingers crossed that you’ll enjoy reading the other titles in my list.

      If you want to try Ilona Andrews and don’t want to make a big commitment, maybe you can give Burn for Me a go. It’s the first in the series and the only one that’s out yet.

  4. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples VII | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

