Chachic's Book Nook

Top Ten Historical and Futuristic Books

15 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week, we were given the option of choosing topics that feature historical or futuristic books. Since I can’t make up my mind, I’m doing halfsies. Also, I don’t think I have enough for each genre to make a full list.

Five books set in the past that I loved:
The Sunbird ebook Code Name Verity - UK2 The Book Thief - UK The Secret Countess Nine Coaches Waiting

Five books set in the future that I loved:
Touchstone Trilogy Illuminae Archivist Wasp Silent Blade 2 Ender's Game - movie cover

I’ve tried read-alikes of these titles but I didn’t enjoyed them as much as the ones I mentioned here. I would love to discover more books that I can add to this list. Have you read any of these? What are books set either in the past or in the future that you would recommend based on the titles I have here?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Historical and Futuristic Books

  1. I did favorite historicals too and CNV and Sunbird are both on my list!

  2. I love The Book Thief, such a great book! And Code Name Verity is on my TBR.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/02/02/top-ten-tuesday-42/

  3. Have you read Rose Under Fire? Fantastic sister book to Code Name Verity.

    My TTT: https://rattlethestarssite.wordpress.com/2016/02/02/top-ten-tuesday-2/

  4. So happy to see CNV and ESPECIALLY Sunbird on this list – thank you!

  5. So many of these titles look great. I haven’t read any of them even though quite a few are actually on my TBR shelf. If you’re looking for a new sci-fi book, I’ve been hearing really great things about Fortune’s Pawn by Rachel Bach. I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet though.

    • Oh I’ve read Fortune’s Pawn, and also Grimspace by Ann Aguirre and Song of Scarabaeus by Sara Creasy which keep being recommended together. I had fun while I was reading them but I couldn’t say that I loved them. And I don’t remember the details of the stories anymore.

  6. I think I’ll have to move Archivist Wasp up my TBR pile given the company it’s keeping …

    • Rachel, I think you’ll really enjoy reading it. It’s a very unusual type of story, I don’t think I’ve come across anything that has a similar feel. I’d be curious to hear what you think.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

