Chachic's Book Nook

Book Haul: The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl

11 Comments

On Friday night, I had my favorite ramen (Ippudo) for dinner and (Laduree) macarons for dessert. Since I was in the same area as Kinokuniya’s most well-stocked branch, I decided to drop by for a visit. And after 3.5 years of living in Singapore, I caved and bought a discount card. So I’ll get 10% off on every purchase, and 20% off on special sale dates. I should have done this sooner! I kept holding off because I mostly buy ebooks for myself. The only physical copies I buy are gifts for friends, or graphic novels that I want to read. Since I foresee a lot of graphic novel purchases in my near future, I thought a discount card would be a good purchase. I think Kinokuniya’s graphic novel section is pretty up to date, I was able to find copies whenever I went there to look for certain titles, such as Saga, Rat Queens, The Wicked + Divine and Giant Days. I wanted to take a pic of their shelves but the store was about to close so

book haul - Jan 29, 2016

Last Friday’s impulse buy:
Kinokuniya’s privilege card
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Vol. 1: Squirrel Power by Ryan North and Erica Henderson
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Vol. 2: Squirrel You Know It’s True by Ryan North and Erica Henderson

I also saw two other graphic novels series that have new issues. But since I don’t want to start the (expensive) habit of buying per issue, I’m going to wait until Vol. 1 is released for these two:

Monstress Cry Havoc

And two other titles that I wanted but didn’t get because they’re too pricey for me:

Seconds The Sculptor

I need to read the graphic novels that I already have before I buy more! What about you, any recent impulse buys?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

11 thoughts on “Book Haul: The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl

  1. I’m waiting for the volume release of Monstress as well. I’ve been hearing great things about The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl. I need to give it a shot.

  2. Good haul! Come over to my blog for some bookish fun, the Overly Dramatic Memoir Generator! http://www.thatssojacob.wordpress.com

  3. Looks like a good retail therapy session 😉

    • It was! But then I felt a bit guilty afterwards because I still have several graphic novels that I haven’t read. I should stay away from Kinokuniya for a while.

      • It’s so relaxing though! I love taking walks through Kino during lunch hour, esp when its been a ridiculous morning! But I think I can totally understand the guilt…I’ve done it to myself a few times TT_TT

      • Lucky you, you have a Kino within walking distance from the office! The Kino branch that I visit is actually nearer from the office that from my flat. But still need to take the train to get there. Yeah, book browsing is like therapy.

  4. I don’t know how pricey “too pricey” is for you, but I wholeheartedly approve your taste if Seconds and Sculptor are both on your “to buy next” list. Both were excellent reads — although now that I’m looking for it, it looks like I might not have blogged Seconds 😦
    Nimona and Space Dumplins were also good.

    • Seconds was about 50sgd, compared to the ones that I did buy which were 20sgd. That’s why I found it too pricey for me. I’ll probably wait for the bookstore to have a sale before I buy Seconds or Scultor (or any other graphic novels). Other series that I’m considering are Alex + Ada and Lazarus.

      Nimona was one of my top reads last year! I should have written a review of it but I didn’t have time. I’ll look up Space Dumplins, thanks for the rec.

  5. Pingback: Comics and Chocolates Haul | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

