2016 Graphic Novel / Manga Challenge

One of my reading goals this year is to read more graphic novels! I was just browsing when I happened to stumble upon a challenge that will help me accomplish this goal: the 2016 Graphic Novel / Manga Challenge. Instructions can be found here. And since it’s mentioned in the site that it’s never too late to join, I’m signing up now!

2016 graphic novel challenge

I haven’t joined a book challenge in ages but I feel like this is something that I wouldn’t have much trouble with. Since I’m a newbie, I’m going to choose the Modern Age level which means I have to read and review 12 graphic novels this year. One per month shouldn’t be too much, right? I even have one for January since I managed to read and post a (mini) review of Soppy. I’m glad my last book haul also has some titles that I can read for this challenge. To serve as a reminder to myself when I look back on this post, here are graphic novels / comics that I already have copies of:

American Born Chinese This One Summer Anya's Ghost

Maktan 1521 Halina Filipina Mythspace

The Wicked + The Divine - The Faust Act The Wicked + The Divine - Fandemonium Rat Queens Vol 2 Ms. Marvel Giant Days

I have a few more titles in my wishlist but we’ll see if I’ll be able to get copies of them. I have a feeling this challenge will make me want to browse the graphic novel section of Kinokuniya more often (or Fully Booked whenever I’m in Manila). If you have any recommendations for graphic novels, please feel free to leave a comment. πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “2016 Graphic Novel / Manga Challenge

  1. Good luck on your challenge! It looks like you already have quite a few good titles on your list. I love Ms. Marvel. I’ve heard great things about Giant Days. I would recommend basically anything by Kelly Sue DeConnick. I love her stuff. I also really liked Joss Whedon’s run on the X-men. The Chew series is also a fun one as long as you don’t mind a little gore.

    • Thank you for the recs! First time I’ve heard of these titles, I need to check them out. I don’t mind a little gore but I wasn’t a big fan of the amount of violence/gore in Saga.

      Ms. Marvels has been getting a lot of great feedback! And Giant Days was recommended by a friend who reads a lot of graphic novels.

  2. I love the sound of this challenge! I’ve always been a fan of manga but late last year I was getting into the swing of graphic novels πŸ˜‰ From your list, I’ve only read Anya’s Ghost and Miss Marvel but I really enjoyed them both! The second volume of Miss Marvel is even BETTER >:D

    • I’ve never read manga because I don’t want to start and get hooked. πŸ˜› I know the series tend to have a lot of books in them and I already spend enough money in buying books as it is! So I’m going for graphic novels instead (even though they’re also expensive). You should totally join this challenge, Sandy. πŸ˜€ Ms. Marvel Volumes 3 and 4 are also out, right? I think I saw them at the bookstore.

  3. Pingback: Book Haul: The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl | Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: Graphic Novel / Manga Challenge: The Wicked + The Divine | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Graphic Novel / Manga Challenge: Giant Days | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

