Top Ten Gateway Books

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is a freebie! So we get to choose a topic that we want to feature. I’m choosing gateway books because it’s something that I haven’t really talked about before. For me, gateway books are the ones that convinced me to try more from that particular category or genre. They don’t necessarily have to be the books that were my introduction to that space. In no particular order, here are my picks:

Adult urban fantasy: Magic Bites by Ilona AndrewsMagic Bites

Romantic science fiction: Silent Blade by Ilona Andrews
Silent Blade

Fairy tale retelling: The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale
Goose Girl_Alison Jay

Magic realism: Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen
Garden Spells

Graphic novel / comics: Trese by Budjette Tan and KaJo Baldisimo
Murder on Balete Drive

Historical fiction: A Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbotson
A Countess Below Stairs

Aussie YA: Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
Jellicoe Road

Filipino romance: The Breakup Diaries by Maya O. Calica and Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra

The Breakup Diaries 2 Fairy Tale Fail

Adult contemporary romance: Something About You by Julie James
Something About You

New adult sports romance: The Year We Fell Down by Sarina Bowen (actually the whole Ivy Years series)
The Year We Fell Down
I feel like I could go on and on with this topic, I just have to go way back like starting from books that I read as a child. These were the ones that were from the past couple of years. What about you, what are some of your gateway books? πŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Gateway Books

  1. What a wonderful idea for a list. What a wonderful idea in general too! I’ve never heard anyone talking about gateway books but now that I see you mentioned it, it makes me want to find more of this sort of books so that I could perhaps find new genres to love. Great job!

    • Thank you, glad you like it! I have seen other blogging people talk about gateway books but for some reason, I never considered doing it until yesterday’s TTT. I’m sure you probably have your own gateway books, you should have to look back to remember them. πŸ™‚

    • When I checked my blog to see if I’ve ever featured gateway books, your guest post for Amour et Florand popped up. So I was reminded that Laura Florand is your gateway for adult romance (and Melina Marchetta for YA romance). πŸ˜€

    • YASSS! I even enjoyed their short fiction like Days of Swine and Roses and A Mere Formality. Seriously cannot wait for the sequel to Burn for Me. I haven’t read the Innkeeper books and Alphas: Origins.

      • The Innkeeper books are great–I read them in the free installments on their blog, and then the finished product.
        Origins is in an anthology, too, if you didn’t know. (Angels & Demons)

      • I really don’t know why I haven’t been in the mood to read the Innkeeper books yet. Yep, I know Origins is also in anthology. LOL I don’t have a copy of the anthology or the standalone.

  2. We have the same gateway books for Aussie YA and magical realism! This is such a great list and theme choice. I think I’m going to do this list for this week’s TTT too. That is, if you don’t mind me copying? πŸ™‚

  3. Never heard of the term gateway books. Will have to ponder what mine are. I love that “The Goose Girl” is on here, though! One of my favs πŸ™‚

    • I’m glad you’re now aware of what gateway books are! Yep, I also love The Goose Girl, definitely made me want to read more fairy tale retellings. And now that’s one of my favorite genres.

  4. Pingback: The Door within the Wardrobe, or Angie’s Gateway Books | TiaMart Blog

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

