Mini Review: Soppy by Philippa Rice

Soppy by Philippa RicePosting a short review of this one because even though I enjoyed reading it, I don’t think there’s a lot that I can say about the book.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

True love isn’t always about the big romantic gestures.

Sometimes it’s about sympathizing with someone whose tea has gone cold or reading together and sharing a quilt. When two people move in together, it soon becomes apparent that the little things mean an awful lot. The throwaway moments in life become meaningful when you spend them in the company of someone you love.

SOPPY is Philippa Rice’s collection of comics and illustrations based on real-life moments with her boyfriend. From grocery shopping to silly arguments and snuggling in front of the television, SOPPY captures the universal experience of sharing a life together, and celebrates the beauty of finding romance all around us.

I’ve seen some of Philippa Rice’s illustrations online but didn’t realize that she had a book until a few weeks ago. I couldn’t resist grabbing a copy when I saw it at the bookstore. Soppy was such an adorable read. It’s not really a graphic novel but a collection of illustrations of mostly ordinary (but also very sweet) moments in a couple’s life. Some pages have dialogue while some are just artwork. Of course, my favorites are the scenes that show the couple reading together! I thought the whole book was pretty cute and I’ll probably end up browsing through it from time to time. I really liked the red, black and white color scheme used in the artwork because it goes well with the lovey dovey theme of the book.

Soppy by Philippa Rice - reading

#RelationshipGoals

12 thoughts on “Mini Review: Soppy by Philippa Rice

  1. I didn’t know her illustrations were published as a book. It’s really cute! I saw the illustrations on Buzzfeed once and thought it really illustrated a really healthy relationship 😀

    • I didn’t know either until I saw a pic of the book on Instagram. And then I saw it when I dropped by Kino. You should totally check it out. Haha you can even finish reading the book while hanging out at the bookstore. 😛

  2. Pingback: 2016 Graphic Novel / Manga Challenge | Chachic's Book Nook

  3. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples VII | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

