Breaking News: Queen’s Thief Series by Megan Whalen Turner

This news was shared all over Twitter the other day, but in case you missed it… Monica Edinger has some news about the Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner:

… a little bird told me the next two are in the home stretch of being finished and coming out some time in the not-too-far-off future. First the publisher will reissue the original four to bring a new generation of readers to them and then….numbers five and six.

Queen's Thief

This is HUGE! Megan Whalen Turner fans have been wait for YEARS to hear some news about her next book. I’m thrilled that they’re planning to reissue the books to gain more readers but I’m really hoping that the new designs will be just as good as the Vince Natale covers that the series currently has. This series and the community around it means a lot to me. I read the books before I started my blog so I didn’t really write a review of it, but I did host a blog event back in 2012 to celebrate the books and you can read some of the posts here.

If you haven’t read the series and you feel like we have similar tastes in books then I highly recommend that you pick it up. I’m borrowing an image made by my friend Angie when she did her guest post for Queen’s Thief Week:

Queen's Thief Week: Guest Post by Angie of Angieville

17 thoughts on “Breaking News: Queen’s Thief Series by Megan Whalen Turner

  1. Neither can I. I am going to head out to Barnes & Noble to see if they have the paperback versions. I have the e-books and hardcovers but I want them in all editions, especially since I found out an additional short story was added to one of the paperback ones (and I forget which one it was in) that I have not read yet.

    • Oh you have them in hardcovers! I’m jealous. I only have the first three in paperback and the fourth in hardcover. I hope the reissues would be available in hardcover. And I think it was The King of Attolia that had a bonus short story, from the POV of a little Eddis.

  2. Yes, if I really like a book, I buy the hardcover too. The paperbacks are for reading in the tub…just in case I accidentally drop one. Lol. Thanks for remindng me which one has the short story in.

    I usually just lurk but this was something I HAD to reply to.

    • LOL I used to have duplicates of my favorites books too. Until I moved to Singapore and space became an issue. The earlier hardcovers were out of print by the time I discovered the series. Did you track them down?

      I’ve shared the link to this news on Twitter and Facebook but I figured other people might not hear about it unless I do a blog post.

  3. I bought them as they came out. I encountered the first one when I worked at a library (the best job I ever had) and fell in love with it so as they came out I knew I’d want the hardcovers.

    The annoying thing is that B&N didn’t have the pb’s in stock so I had to order them.

    • Aww working in a library sounds awesome. I would love to experience that but I don’t have the credentials for it.

      Let’s hope that the new editions will just be as pretty (and as fitting to the story) as the old covers, so we’ll have an excuse to buy new copies. πŸ˜€

      • It was great. I worked as a library clerk so didn’t need to have a degree as a librarian. I couldn’t believe I was getting paid to enjoy myself! If life hadn’t gotten in the way, I’d still be there.

  4. So exciting!! So, who do you think the next two books will be about? Do we get something from Eddis’s point of view, perchance?? (And what’s this about a short story about little Eddis??? Where? How? I have not seen it!)

    • I think we’ll see our beloved thief smack in the middle of grander and bigger things, the question is from whose POV those stories will be. There’s a short story in the extras section of The King of Attolia paperback, I did a quick Google search and just remembered that there’s also another one in the A Conspiracy of Kings. Now I feel bad that my copies are back home in Manila!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

