Ten 2015 Releases I Meant to Get to But Didn’t

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. While I try to keep up with new titles, I don’t always get to do so because I pick up books based on my mood. And sometimes, I just feel like reading older titles. Then real life gets in the way of reading time and some books just get pushed back. So there are quite a few 2015 releases that I wanted to read last year but wasn’t able to. Here are ten of them:

A Thousand Nights The Wrath and the Dawn Binti The Lie Tree Crimson Bound

Black Dove White Raven - UK Under a Painted Sky The Start of Me and You The Friend Zone The Royal We

Some of these authors are new-to-me (e.g. E.K. Johnston, Nnedi Okorafor) while some have written books that I’ve loved (e.g. Elizabeth Wein, Frances Hardinge). One thing they all have in common is that I’ve heard good things about these books, which was why I was curious about them to begin with. I already have copies of all of these either in my Kindle or on my bookshelf so I hope I’ll be able to read them in 2016. If you’ve read and loved any of these titles, feel free to comment and I’ll try my best to bump it up. What about you, what are 2015 releases that you meant to read last year but were not able to do so?

16 thoughts on “Ten 2015 Releases I Meant to Get to But Didn’t

  1. Crimson Bound is on my list as well.

    I really need to get around to trying out Callihan’s new adult romances. I absolutely love her paranormal romance series, so I’m not sure why I’ve been so reluctant to start her other series.

    • I thought Cruel Beauty was awesome so I really should try to read Crimson Bound soon. To be honest, I didn’t really love Kristen Callihan’s The Hook Up but I heard that the Friend Zone is better so I’m willing to give it a try. You should definitely read her contemps if you like her paranormal romances.

  2. The Lie Tree is being published in the US this year and I’m so looking forward to reading it!!!

    Crimson Bound is pretty good. So is Black Dove White Raven (of course). And you know how I feel about A Thousand Nights. (I haven’t read Wrath and the Dawn yet because I heard it was more of a romance and that makes me wary. Maybe I’ll wait to see what you think.)

    • I’ve had my copy of The Lie Tree for months! I don’t know why I haven’t been in the mood to read it because I’ve loved the other Frances Hardinge titles that I’ve read.

      Yay, good to know that Crimson Bound and Black Dove, White Raven are both good (which I expected). And yes, I know how you feel about A Thousand Nights. I tried reading a few pages of The Wrath and the Dawn when it was chosen for our book club but I didn’t feel like continuing it at that time.

  3. I second Brandy’s endorsement of The Lie Tree and A Thousand Nights. Both those authors are auto-buy for me now. I didn’t finish Crimson Bound; maybe I should have given it more of a chance, but the main character didn’t grab me. Elisabeth Wein is another favourite author, and I want to read Black Dove when I have time to enjoy it.

    • Noted! Must try to bump up The Lie Tree and A Thousand Nights. Well, don’t force it if you don’t feel like reading Crimson Bound. There are way too many books out there than can become possible favorites. EWein is one of my all time favorite authors too. I bought the Kindle edition of Black Dove, White Raven when it was released and managed to get UK edition a few months later. LOL but still haven’t read it.

  4. Great list, you have a lot of awesome books that you still need to get to. I have read a few of these myself – A Thousand Nights and The Start of Me and You. I really enjoyed The Start of Me and You, it was such a cutesy contemporary. I was a little bored by A Thousand Nights but know a ton of people who loved it. Most of the others are ones I am still hoping to find time to get to in 2016.

    I hope you enjoy them when you get the chance to read them πŸ™‚ Here’s my TTT, if you want to check out my list.

    • Thank you for sharing your thoughts on A Thousand Nights and the Start of Me and You. I really should read those two since I’ve had my copies of them for a while now. I’ve heard good things about both!

    • Good to know we have some overlaps! I found out only recently that The Lie Tree isn’t out in the US yet, I thought it had the same release date as the UK edition. I should try to bump it up since I have an early copy! I’m pretty sure I’ll love it because the Frances Hardinge books that I’ve read have been amazing.

  5. I loved The Wrath and the dawn! Maybe you can save it for when the sequel is almost out and that way you can read them back to back (it’s a duology). I liked One Thousand NIghts at the beginning but then got progressively disinterested (I hate when that happens to me!) Weirdly, one of my real life friends loved A Thousand NIghts but didn’t like The Wrath and the Dawn ~ so I’l be curious to see what you think!

    • Thanks for letting me know that The Wrath and the Dawn is part of a duology! I will probably wait until the sequel is out before I pick it up. I feel like I should have done that with Six of Crows. I’ll let you know what I think when I get to read A Thousand Nights… at the rate I’m going, who knows when that will be.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

