Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2016

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Today is the first TTT of the year! I did this topic last year and will be adding on some of my resolutions from before because I want to keep doing them this year. In no particular order, here are my blogging and reading goals for 2016:

Keep blogging without pressure. In order to keep blogging fun, I need to blog without pressure. No pressure to write posts or review books if I don’t have the time or if I’d rather do something else (like read or rest).

If I can manage to do so, visit more book cafes or indie bookstores. Because exploring bookish locations is fun. I might even donate books to one or two of the book cafes I’ve visited in Manila, maybe on my next trip home.

Tweedle Book Cafe - shelf

Tweedle Book Cafe

Read more Filipino fiction. I think I read a decent number of books written by Filipino authors last year but I want to do more of that this year. Also review more of them.

Read more speculative fiction. I’ve noticed that I have a tendency to dive into contemporary fiction rather than sci fi or fantasy because I feel like the former is easier to get into. But I do love spec fic! I just need to remind myself to read more of it from time to time.

Read more books from my TBR pile. I have so many books that I still haven’t read and I need to make more of a conscious effort to prioritize them.

Read more graphic novels. I’ve enjoyed a few graphic novels in 2015 and would like to discover more titles this year. The ones that I already have copies of are Halina Filipina, Mythspace, Rat Queens, The Wicked + The Divine, Ms. Marvel, This One Summer, Anya’s Ghost and American Born Chinese. Feel free to make suggestions if you have any!

To avoid clutter (since I’m only renting in Singapore), buy ebook editions instead of physical copies. Except for graphic novels or illustrated books.

Pass on physical copies of books that I don’t plan to reread. Again, this is to avoid generating clutter since I can’t afford to collect books when I don’t have a permanent residence. I’ve been doing a bit of this last year, even passing on some of my books from my Manila bookshelf whenever I fly home.

Don’t hesitate to DNF books. I’ve said it before and I’ll probably say it again, life is too short to read books we don’t like. But even so, I have a hard time DNF-ing books. I’m more likely to skim until the end. But why should I do that when I could read something else that I would like more?

Buy more bookish clothes. Because it makes me happy to wear a bookish outfit, and I also get to blog about it whenever I do so.

Chachic - ootd - book skirt 2

What about you, what are some of your goals and resolutions for the year? πŸ™‚

30 thoughts on “Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2016

  1. I’m so with you on passing on physical book copies when I can. There is just no room! Looking forward to seeing your Filipino author and Spec Fiction recs. I need to branch out too. Best of luck with all your goals and resolutions! Love your bookish outfit πŸ™‚

    • There really is no room in our flat in Singapore. And given how much I hate packing and unpacking, I should really avoid clutter. If I was still living in Manila, I could probably keep collecting physical copies. Thank you for the well wishes, Lucy! Good luck with your own goals. πŸ™‚

  2. I love your skirt. Very cute! I also have trouble DNFing books. I always feel the need to once I’ve started. Luckily, it’s rare I dislike a book enough to do so. Graphic novels is a great idea. I have several Walking Dead and Captain Americas unread. Good luck!

    • Sometimes I hesitate in DNFing a book because I’m afraid it will bother me if I don’t find out how it ends. But that wasn’t really an issue with the few books I’ve managed to DNF. Oh have fun reading the graphic novels in your TBR pile! I think they’re a good choice whenever I don’t feel like diving into a full-length novel.

  3. I love Ms. Marvel! I really love Kelly Sue DeConnick’s Captain Marvel run as well. Joss Whedon’s run on the X-men is really fantastic too. I can’t wait to see what comics you read in 2015.

    I’m aiming to cut down on my TBR pile this year as well. Good luck on all your resolutions!

    • I keep hearing good things about Ms. Marvel! I’m kind of bummed that only volume 1 was available in the bookstore I visited in Manila. I hope I find the next volumes here in Singapore. I also have Captain Marvel on my radar. I’ll try to post updates on my graphic novel reads on the blog. πŸ™‚

      Good luck in culling your TBR pile! I know that’s something we all struggle with.

  4. I’m with you in not hesitating to DNF books! I always feel guilty when I lose interest in a book, so I’d always continue even if I don’t want to! The result? A reading slump! I’ll definitely work on that this year! πŸ™‚ Good luck with all your resolutions!
    xo, Kat

    • We really shouldn’t be thinking too hard about DNFing books! Oh that sucks that you end up having a reading slump. I’m relieved that I haven’t had a slump in ages. I usually try to prevent a slump from coming on by reading something light and fun, or taking a few days off from reading to have a bit of a rest. Thanks for dropping by and good luck with your own resolutions if you have them!

  5. I do love collecting bookish clothing! I also love collecting fandom shirts, bookish or otherwise. So I’m loving that resolution! Also, I definitely think DNF is something we shouldn’t feel guilty about or think too hard about! I’ve definitely gotten better at it, and I hope it becomes easier for you too.

    • I would also love to collect bookish stuff, not just clothes! But again, space is an issue that I always have to worry about. I really hope I can work on not feeling guilty about DNFing books this year. Let’s see!

    • Thanks, Quinn! I think it’s a cute skirt too. I keep wearing it during bookish events. πŸ™‚ I hope we’re both able to manage our TBR piles better in 2016.

    • I’ve seen The Mango Bride around but I haven’t read them yet. Same for Jessica Hagedorn. I usually go for titles recommended by friends or other Filipino readers I already follow. πŸ˜€

  6. It breaks my heart to switch over to ebooks or (gasp) give away books! But I totally hear you on space issues haha. I’m transitioning without even realizing it πŸ˜‰

    • I would love to keep all the physical copies of books that I have so I can build a home library someday… but sadly, that’s just not possible when I don’t have enough space here in Singapore. 😦 Ebooks are just more convenient.

  7. Pingback: 2016 Graphic Novel / Manga Challenge | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

