Chachic's Book Nook

Pratical Guide to Christmas Gift Giving

7 Comments

My friends in real life always say that even if they wanted to give me books as presents, they never know what to get for me. Aside from not knowing what title I would enjoy reading, they also have no clue whether I already have a copy of a particular book. I do keep my Goodreads shelves updated but I don’t think my friends would think of checking that site since they don’t have accounts there. I’ve mentioned several times that I would be happy to receive bookstore or Amazon gift cards but some friends refuse to give gift cards, saying that it’s equivalent to just handing money over (I don’t see why that’s a bad thing when it’s money that would be allocated for buying books). I think for them that takes out the fun in gift giving?

Of course, the best way to get a good gift idea is to just ask me directly. Which is what one of my Singapore-based friends did. One of the days we were out together, I brought her to the bookstore and gave her five books that I wanted. We’re both into graphic novels so those were the ones I gave her. I then asked her to choose a title that she would be interested in borrowing. And viola! She has then bought and given me a gift that we’re both happy with:

Christmas 2015 - Nellie's gift

Yes, I know what’s inside but the bookstore offered to gift wrap it for free so it’s nicely covered until I read it. I’m going to suggest this practical gift buying procedure to any friend who wants to buy books for me. 🙂 What do you guys think, do you agree that it’s a good idea? Do you have any other tips regarding this topic?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

7 thoughts on “Pratical Guide to Christmas Gift Giving

  1. This is a pretty smart way to go about getting friends to buy you books for Christmas! I may have to try it myself with Macky 😉

  2. Pingback: Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year | Chachic's Book Nook

  3. Pingback: Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year | Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: Book Haul – Christmas 2015 Edition | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Graphic Novel / Manga Challenge: The Wicked + The Divine | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Book Haul: World Book Day | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

