Christmas Shopping – Singapore Edition

As I mentioned in one of my posts last week, I love the Christmas season. It doesn’t really start feeling like Christmas is near until I start my Christmas shopping. I think it’s a lot of fun to browse around malls, go into stores with Christmas carols playing on their speakers, and try to decide what would make great gifts. This year, I’ve decided that I’ll mostly be giving books as gifts. I was at the bookstore the other day and was able to get Christmas-themed board books for my newborn godson:

Christmas 2015 - Kinokuniya books for Adrian

The bookstore offered free gift wrapping services and I think their Christmas gift wrappers are adorable. These two titles are inside:

Dream Snow Little Santa

I hope my godson enjoys these books! Or I guess I should say, I hope his parents enjoy reading these aloud to him. Another bookish shopping experience that I enjoyed was putting together a Secret Santa package for my book club. This has become a tradition that I’ve participated in for the past three years (the Secret Santa haul I got from previous years: 2012, 2013, 2014). Of course I can’t share the contents so here’s a preview instead:

Christmas 2015 - YAckers Secret Santa

That gift bag is from Kikki.K, the same store where I’ve been getting my planner for the past few years. Fingers crossed that my YAckers Santee will like the stuff I put inside! Now I just need to drop by the post office during the hours that they’re open.

For my friends back home, I’m planning to buy Filipino titles. I was thinking Filipino romance titles (lots of new releases this year) for my girlfriends, Filipino graphic novels for guy friends, and Filipino kiddie books for my godsons. And for those, I wouldn’t be able to start buying them until I’m in Manila. So watch this space for another bookish Christmas shopping update!

What about the rest of you, have you started your Christmas shopping? Planning to give any books as gifts?

7 thoughts on “Christmas Shopping – Singapore Edition

  1. You are so organised.

    I’m actually rather nervous about buying books as gifts as I worry they’d have the same books already! Then again, not everyone reads as much as I do… I love book-ish gifts though – I can kill hours browsing Etsy for them.

    Li

    • LOL. Li, I think that’s the first time anyone has called me organized, because I’m really not. πŸ˜›

      I’m not really worried about giving books to friends because like you, not all my friends read as much as I do. They are the ones who usually worry about giving me a book, sometimes they ask me for what I want to play it safe. I would love to have more bookish stuff too! I’m still trying to decide whether I should give it and buy some Society6 bookish shirts.

    • Same! I wish I was a millionaire because I also want to get EVERYTHING for friends and family. So hard to stay within my allocated budget and still get something nice and thoughtful.

  2. Pingback: Christmas Shopping – Manila Edition | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

