Chachic's Book Nook

Filipino Fridays: Five Ways I’ve Shown Support for Filipino Authors/Books

2 Comments

It’s past midnight so it’s Fridaaay in this part of the world! I’m staying up late to write this blog post because I have no idea what time I’ll finish work later/tomorrow… Deadlines, I have them. I was in the office until 9:30pm tonight so I might not be able to put up a Filipino Fridays post if I don’t do it now.

filipinofridays3

Filipino Fridays is a weekly meme that has become a tradition leading up to the Filipino Reader Conference. Unfortunately, I won’t be in Manila during the actual date of the ReaderCon so I’m only able to participate through Filipino Fridays. Links to my past two posts: Five Ways Reading Has Changed My Life and My Five Wishes as a Filipino Reader

This week’s topic is how Filipino readers can support Filipino authors and books. Now I know I can do better at encouraging and helping Filipino authors, but here are some ways that I’ve tried to show my support:

Buy Filipino books. I think the best way to support books written by Filipino authors is to buy copies of them and read them. Since I’m all the way over here in Singapore, it’s easier for me to read Filipino books when they have ebook editions. But I do make a point of buying print editions of Filipino books whenever I fly home.

Spread the word about them. Whenever I’m in the middle of a Filipino book, I try my best to talk about it – both through my blog and with friends in real life. I bookstagram it, share quotes and excerpts on Goodreads updates, and recommend it to friends who might be interested.

Feature them on the blog. Now the best blog-related thing that I can do is to post a review of the book. But that doesn’t always happen because sometimes real life gets in the way of things, and I don’t always have time to sit down and write reviews even if I want to. Which is why I’m willing to do other blog posts for Filipino books, such as round ups of books I’ve read, cover reveals, release date announcements, guest posts from authors, etc.

Give them as gifts. I love that Amazon has a “give as gift” option, which I’ve taken advantage of to send Filipino ebooks to friends who read. I’ve also made the decision of buying Filipino books and giving them as Christmas gifts this December (which is why I haven’t started on my Christmas shopping). Because I’ll be killing two birds with one stone – encouraging friends to read while supporting Filipino authors.

Share ideas and give feedback to Filipino authors. Now of course this depends on your rapport with the author and whether he/she will be willing to receive feedback from you. I’m always willing to share my thoughts and ideas, if any Filipino author wants to hear from me. πŸ™‚ Like I said in a previous post, I’m not sure if it would help but if you’re a Filipino author and you think I’m part of your target market, I would be willing to be a beta reader or give feedback (as time permits).

Okay, I’m about to fall asleep in front of my laptop so I’m ending this post here. Any ideas on how else we can support Filipino authors?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

2 thoughts on “Filipino Fridays: Five Ways I’ve Shown Support for Filipino Authors/Books

  1. Yes! Feature them in our blog πŸ™‚

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

