Chachic's Book Nook

Filipino Fridays: My Five Wishes as a Filipino Reader

1 Comment

filipinofridays3

Filipino Fridays is a weekly meme that has become a tradition leading up to the Filipino Reader Conference. Unfortunately, I won’t be in Manila during the actual date of the ReaderCon so I’m only able to participate through Filipino Fridays. Last week’s posts was about five ways that reading changed my life. This week’s topic:

What are the five Things You Wish as a Filipino Reader?

This could be anything! What stories do you want to see from our local authors? Which author do you want to visit the country? Would you want to see your favorite comic book become a live action movie? It’s time for you to share your ultimate wishlist from your perspective as a Filipino Reader. Go wild, go crazy!

I found out that this topic was apparently partially inspired by my Top Ten Tuesday book genie post a few weeks ago, so of course that made me even more eager to come up with a list for this topic.

I would love to have more books written by Filipino authors in the genres that I read. That would include contemporary, romance, epic fantasy, urban fantasy, sci fi, graphic novels. Both in young adult and adult categories. I think there has been an increase of Filipino romance books because of #romanceclass, and it would be great to have more books in other genres too.

It would be amazing if I can find more Filipino books that give me book hangovers. If my first wish is about quantity, my second wish is about quality. I would love to have Filipino books that would make me go WOW. The kind that wouldn’t let me leave the world or story for a few days. The kind that would make me bibliovangelize. I’m not sure how to help make this happen? But if you’re a Filipino author and you think I’m part of your target market, I would be willing to be a beta reader or give feedback on your book if you think it would help.

I wish more Filipino and non-Filipino readers will pick up and promote books written by Filipino authors. I admit that I could be better at this too. But whenever I do read a Filipino book, I try to spread the word about it as much as I can. I try to write a review or at the very least, post about it on Instagram. I’ve noticed that my posts about Filipino titles get less attention that posts about foreign books and that makes me sad.

It would be awesome to have more indie bookstores or book cafes in the Philippines. Apparently, book cafes are now a thing in Manila? If I was still based there, I would be cafe hopping in these places like nobody’s business. I mean, who wouldn’t want to hang out in a cafe that’s meant for readers? They seem like great places to have book club discussions and meet ups too.

I wish there were more online or blog events for Filipino readers, kind of like Filipino Fridays. 🙂 If I was in Manila, I would be wishing for more face-to-face events. But because I’m in Singapore, I can only participate in online stuff.

A very selfish wish that I would add just as a bonus item is for friends or family to give me bookstore or Amazon gift cards if they have no idea what to get for me for Christmas or my birthday. 😛 I don’t want to seem ungrateful but I think this is something that every reader will be able to relate to? We probably spend so much on books that it wouldn’t hurt to get gift cards.

What about the rest of you, what are your readerly wishes?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

One thought on “Filipino Fridays: My Five Wishes as a Filipino Reader

  1. Pingback: Filipino Fridays: Five Ways I’ve Shown Support for Filipino Authors/Books | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

